We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed here for the Tufts University graduation...Go Jumbos.
This hotel is easy to fine and navigate and very reasonably priced.
The entire staff was pleasant, attentive and helpful. Great complimentary breakfast and fitness center. Only hotel we could find in all of Medford, and certainly the closest hotel to the university. The complimentary shuttle was extremely beneficial with easy drop offs and pick ups to the campus as well as Davis Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    323
    121
    48
    35
See reviews for
365
143
36
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
elderslie .scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We (2 ad, 2 kd) stayed here last week for 4 nights whilst visiting Boston, what a find!. Really nice hotel, massive rooms, great breakfast and pleasant staff. Medford is a nice area and has some lovely eateries within a stones throw of the hotel. They also offer a free shuttle to the nearest subway, although we used the car to visit the city as there are so many parking options there. The garage under the Common is a perfect starting point for any visitor, costing about $ 20 for the day. Would definitely se this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank j.k.r.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We appreciate your kind words. The opportunity to meet and serve overseas guests is always a pleasure. Medford is a great starting point to see Boston and we are glad we were here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms: The rooms are nice, spacious and cozy. The huge 42 inch flat screen TV mounted to the wall made it covienent to watch TV from the cozy sectional or while in bed. The only drawback was the small bathroom which I didnt mind much since the room size was extra spacious.

Food: There is no room service but free continental breakfast is offered each morning until 9am. Hot breakfast options are offered for a fee but I striongly suggest that the eggs be avoided - not good! But the the other choices were very good (waffles, french toast, etc.)

Services: The attention to customers I observed to be very good and free computer use is available in the lobby.

Parking: Free! You also had a choice of outside parking or indoor which allowed you to avoid the cold or rain because you are able to enter the hotel directly with your key card.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for writing a second review. It is great to see we are still doing well two years later! You mentioned the computers available in the Gallery (lobby); today we are replacing them to ensure we are up to date. One of the computers will be an Apple so we can take care of as many needs as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

stayed here on business for one nice. The thing that I really enjoy about Hyatt Place hotels is the consistent service and cleanliness. This property is no exception. The staff was nice and the rooms were clean, everything you should expect from a Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We appreciate the compliment and are glad to see you find the same service and amenities when you stay at any Hyatt Place. I know Charleston as the friendliest vacation spot I have experienced so this means all the more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We arrived at Logan airport just before 1pm on a Wednesday and we were checked into our room at the Hyatt Place in Medford by 2pm. (and that included picking up a rental car!) All in all we were pleased with our 4-night stay and we would stay here again without hesitation.

First, our list of pros: Convenient to downtown Boston without downtown prices (we had a car, but shuttle service to transit station is good from what I hear); breakfast is better than many hotels at this price point and the crew works hard to keep it stocked and fresh (coffee, Tazo teas, pitchers of juices/milk, warm breakfast sandwiches, pancakes/waffles/french toast, fresh cut fruit as well as whole bananas and apples, yogurt, cereals, bagels, breads, small sweet treats - vegetarians will have to request meat-free breakfast sandwich though); good garage parking and overflow lot available in the back of the hotel; spacious room with refrigerator; good water pressure and temperature; pull out bed was fine for our 10 year old (but would likely not be so good for me) and was easy to store away to keep the sitting area available for all; good toiletries; warm pool and pool area (good for those freezing days!); spacious room with a sitting area so you aren't tripping over yourself and your stuff trying to get around.

Second, our list of cons: it's not "upscale" but it's not "budget" so you kind of feel like you're paying a little more than you should; yes there is road noise but I sleep with earplugs all the time anyway - my family slept fine and I slept a little light due to the bed; speaking of the bed (king) - it could use replacing - it wasn't bad but it sure did have a typical hotel "lived in" feel; night crew on the first night never responded to our request for an extra pillow and blanket for the pull out bed; loud college age girls for 2 nights and then middle school age boys running around knocking on doors in the evening on the last night (not the hotel's fault, just annoying); typical low-mid range hotel sound issues (again, not horrible); rooms could use general upgrading in beds and pull out beds and decor but our room on the 4th floor was perfectly fine for our needs.

Additional details, some of which are based on comments I saw on TripAdvisor before we booked: I didn't find the garage creepy at all! It's not as dim as some reviews seem to portray, and I like that you have to have a room key to access the elevators from the garage to the hotel. Except for the issue with the extra bedding for the pull out bed that never came, the staff was responsive to other issues. (like the loud people mentioned above, for example) Breakfast was well stocked, even when the crowd swelled just before the end of service at 9:30am.

We found the service slow at the counter for their 24/7 Cafe Menu. We ordered a cheese plate and it took more than 30 minutes to get it. That seemed odd, but they aren't really set up to be a restaurant so I can cut them a little slack. And the plate itself was very nice - cheeses were fresh, flatbread was warm and tender. Check-in and check-out was easy as pie. Navigation to and from Boston proper was easy and quick. For example - I had gone into town (Statehouse area), realized I forgot my purse, went back to the hotel, then went back to my downtown destination all in under 40 minutes. (on a Saturday mid-morning, so that would probably not happen on a weekday)

There are decent places to eat all over Boston, so it's worth getting out and about. One wonderful thing about this town is that there are a zillion little mom-n-pop shops, diners, bakeries, restaurants, dessert places, etc. I loved never setting foot in a national or regional chain restaurant! (and yes, Dunkin Donuts is a chain, even if it did get its start in the area.)

So, we're happy in general and we really hope they will upgrade the beds so we can be even more satisfied the next time we stay.

Room Tip: Ask about staying far from large group reservations (sports teams, wedding groups, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trooper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for visiting. We appreciate the time you took as it highlights many of the things we love about the hotel and Medford. The ability to be in Boston quickly is great for access and Medford itself does offer many local dining options within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel is very convenient if you wish to be close to Tufts university or in the Medford/Somerville area. also a decent option if you want to be close to Cambridge yet pay far less for convenient accommodation. very efficient complimentary hotel shuttle service makes all the difference in the world making it possible to reach the tufts campus, shopping malls, and the T with great ease and in roughly ten minutes. several nice restaurants within walking distance. Carrol's goes especially recommended for both food or just drinks.

Hotel rooms are very spacious and have all standard amenities and beyond. Complimentary wifi in both lobby and rooms works very well. Spotlessly clean and functional. Beds comfortable. Complimentary breakfast is generous and tasty certainly by comparison to similar hotels. The staff is outstandingly friendly and supportive. Gym small but functional.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you, glad we were able to make your stay comfortable after a long trip. We enjoyed having you here and more than one Host was sorry to see you leave. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from a two day stay with my family of four from NH. WOW, we were very impressed with our stay....the room was very spacious, clean and modern. We have a fifteen yr old boy and a 21 month yr old girl, and traveling can be challenging to say the least! The staff was AMAZING and so accommodating from heating up water so our daughter could have her nightly oatmeal to having to plunge our toilet ( I did mention having a 15 yr old boy). Always a smile and never once did they make us feel like a bother. The complimentary breakfast was by far the best! They we're constantly refreshing the inventory with their hot and yummy breakfast sandwiches, fruit salad, Starbucks coffee, and homemade breads and pastries. My son and husband enjoyed the indoor pool and our daughter loved running about our spacious room. Thank you Expedia for finding this hotel for us! our priorities were finding a clean hotel near the Boston Aquarium at a fair price that had an indoor pool. Very satisfied and will definitely stay at the Hyatt Place again when returning to the Boston area. A special thanks to Wilson!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for the great note, we had a great time ourselves the past two weeks with school vacation visitors. It's always fun to share Medford and Boston with travelers and enjoy the energy level the younger guests bring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
1.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.5 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.7 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Boston/Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Boston/Medford

Property: Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Address: 116 Riverside Ave, Medford, MA 02155-4609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Boston/Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near downtown Boston and only eight miles from Logan International Airport, Hyatt Place Boston/Medford is the ideal choice for casual travelers visiting Bean Town. Our beautifully designed accommodations and travel enhancing amenities create a seamless experience, so you have the simple essentials on your own time. Enjoy modern conveniences and up-close access to our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Boston/Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing