We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location close to downtown boston if you have car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location close to downtown boston if you have car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Reasonable priced hotel for proximity to downtown with breakfast and free parking. Spent three nights staff was nice, rooms were decent your typical Hyatt room. Was a 10 min drive in to down town. Go on the Upper Deck trolly tour and your parking is $4 as opposed to parking downtown for $40 for the day

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinghighFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    316
    118
    47
    33
See reviews for
354
140
34
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed one night with a family trip. Very convenient to boston but not boston prices and free parking. Some families here were going to the sox game. The room was very average, the air conditioning was a bit loud. Nothing bad, but I like a bit nicer bed and bath. Breakfast was VERY crowded and so were the elevators in the morning. If you want great value outside of boston see my review of Fairfield inn Sudbury.

Room Tip: Not close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB1Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were looking for a nice place near the city without the high cost of staying downtown, and Hyatt Place fit the bill. The rooms are BIG! We booked two rooms and they were quite spacious with great amenities. One room had a king sized bed, sectional couch, mini refrigerator, large tv, desk area, coffee/tea maker, you name it! Our second room was even bigger with two beds, and an even larger sectional along with all the furnishing that were in the king room. We could have slept 6 people in that room between the beds and sectional, with room for one or two cots!

The beds were rather stiff and that would be the main reason for rating the room a 4 and not a five. This is not the plush bedding and pillows that are typical of a 5- star establishment, but everyone enjoyed a good nights sleep. We were near the elevator, which concerned me at first, but did not experience distracting noise at all. Room darkening window treatments might have you sleep all day, so be sure to set the included alarm clock and don't miss the free breakfast.

Breakfast is a bevy of choices sure to please everyone. Every day they had a hot egg concoction, usually a choice of 2 breakfast sandwiches, one being comprised of all egg whites. Fruit, cereal, assorted breads, bagels, muffins, donuts and bagels are provided along with coffee, teas, milk and assorted juices. Really there is something for everyone, even I those with dietary restrictions ( gluten free, diabetic, etc). Did I mention that this is all you can eat for free?

We took advantage of the free shuttle service from the hotel and took the orange line into Boston. The shuttle took us to Wellington Station, about a 5 minute drive and it was so easy from there. Round trip train fare is about $5 unless you have a Charlie card, which makes it even cheaper. They don't sell Charlie cards at the Wellington Station, so we paid full fare. After a full- day in Boston, we called the hotel to ask the driver to pick us up at Wellington Station and he was there in 10 minutes. Again, this shuttle was free- courtesy of the hotel, and this service runs until 9pm.

After comparing prices and amenities of other hotels in Boston, the Hyatt Place in Medford proved to be a great choice. Kids will love the indoor pool and adults can enjoy a cocktail and snack at the hotel bar area. With good restaurants within walking distance along with banks, CVS and local businesses, you can park your car for free at the hotel and won't need it again until you leave!

Room Tip: All rooms are nonsmoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel breakfast much better than average. Same for the front desk staff, especially Rony. Rooms are large. Soundproofing and mattress average. The only minus for us was the distance from the subway. There was a shuttle, but the wait could be long (or short), but you never knew as it didn't have a schedule.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pps_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
377 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here last year which had some issues.

This year, was much better: everything in hotel was fine. Rooms & property is clean, although the elevators are terribly slow. The breakfast is good: hot selections and continental.

The WiFi (important for a business traveler) is decent. Can do work with it, but, any big downloads or trying to watch a movie on Netflix is not recommended (if you're working, you shouldn't be watching a Netflix movie anyway).

The one hiccup is taxi service in Medford is *awful*. Had to take taxi's twice from hotel to other destinations and both times, hotel front desk staff would call Medford Taxi and basically *lie* to hotel staff about how long and where their drivers were.

This of course caused competition amongst multiple guests vying for the taxis that eventually showed up because everyone was late.

On day I left, a diff taxi service was dropping off guest. I already had another hotel guest "steal" my taxi that hotel staff called for me, so I was getting into this other taxi that had just dropped off someone, when a Medford taxi pulls up, and the driver starts yelling at the cab I was getting in about how he was stealing Medford taxi business.

Hint to Medford Taxi service: if you stopped lying and showed up when you say you will, people like me wouldn't be using other taxi services.

If you need a taxi, add additional 30min and assume Medford Taxi services will be late.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on opposite side of building from I-93
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

this hotel has it all, location, cleanliness,large rooms, free parking and great breakfast. We were there for two nights while visiting family in Arlington. It was easy to get to, right off 93, and easy to travel to other places. It has a shuttle to take you to the T for sightseeing, a delicious breakfast with food for all palates and comfortable rooms. the eating places around Medford Square are top notch as well and an easy walk for all ages.

Room Tip: Not sure there are bad rooms. there are larger rooms which say with corner sleep sofa. these are nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngrace77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you! I am glad to see you tried the local restaurants; it is nice to be a suburban hotel with a neighborhood setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff has always been extremely accommodating and respectful. We stayed here with our 4 kids and we were always helped at breakfast and carrying items if needed.
Clean
Friendly
Great Breakfast
Close to Boston.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZionDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Great to see that we took good care of your family. We particularly enjoy hosting families in the summer as they tour Boston and New England. Sometimes we forget local destinations that are memorable - last night I was in Marblehead and Salem and remembered how much fun Cape Ann can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
1.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.5 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Boston/Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Boston/Medford

Property: Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Address: 116 Riverside Ave, Medford, MA 02155-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Boston/Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near downtown Boston and only eight miles from Logan International Airport, Hyatt Place Boston/Medford is the ideal choice for casual travelers visiting Bean Town. Our beautifully designed accommodations and travel enhancing amenities create a seamless experience, so you have the simple essentials on your own time. Enjoy modern conveniences and up-close access to our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Boston/Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing