We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Tufts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Clean, large rooms. Very nice. Good breakfast, but very crowded.
Didn't have seating capacity at peak time. Service was good at breakfast. Front desk very accommodating. Even tho the hotel was full, they were able to rearrange rooms so we had 2 across the hall from each other instead of down the hall. Note: get a room on the parking lot side, the street side(highway) is VERY loud. Very close to Tufts, Davis Square.

Room Tip: Rooms on parking lot side are significantly less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Clementine52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times while my son attended Tufts University. The hotel is extremely welcoming to Tufts families and the most convenient hotel in which to stay if you are visiting Tufts. They have a shuttle that will take you to Tufts, Davis square or anywhere else within a reasonable distance. When we arrived on the train, I called the hotel and told them we would be arriving into Davis square a little past the time the shuttle normally runs. They said no problem. We never had to wait around for the shuttle, either coming or going to the hotel, even graduation weekend, which was incredilbly busy. When there were too many people for one shuttle, they quickly got a second shuttle going.

The rooms are large and well equipped for families, although they could use a bit of refreshing, as they are a little worn in places. Beds are comfortable and service is very good.

The free breakfast is the usual for this type of hotel. It isn't to my liking, but I am rather particular about quality of food. Most other people at the hotel seemed to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rst749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel in Medford since 2007 when we discovered it through my uncle who was also in town for a family gathering. My mother's family has lived in Medford for ages, and we don't like to crash in their homes since there are four of us. We have found this Hyatt perfectly situated for a Medford visit, naturally, but since it is also right off I-93, it is an easy ride into Boston itself for sightseeing and other venues. Parking is terrific with even an underground garage. The breakfast is very good and we fed our two hungry young men easily. The rooms are a good size and we fit into the double room with fold-out sofa just fine. As I said, it has a great location and still has modern appointments and the food stop is great. The only issue is the price has jumped a bit, but with breakfast thrown in it can be a nice stop.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidh400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

When visiting the Medford this is the place to stay!
I visited with 9 other friends and we all had a great experience with this Hyatt Place.
Our room was very spacious with comfortable beds. Everything was clean. We did have a problem with our air conditioner and someone was able to address it in less than an hour of our bringing it to their attention.
Breakfast was free and filling. They provided us with hot and cold breakfast items. We enjoyed the hotel for a week and each day our breakfast was very good and there was always a staff person available to help whenever needed.
The shuttle bus drivers were great, very friendly and available when we needed. There are at least 3 bus stops within close walking distance to the hotel which was very convenient.
Fabulous staff, great location and comfortable rooms. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank BeachMomFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just came back two days ago from travelling to Boston. We were a party of 5 and everything and everyone in the party were more than satisfied. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and the free breakfast was not only varied and delicious.... but it was incredibly organized and things just flowed easily. The shuttle took you to two different train stations so that if you needed variety of train lines, it was not difficult to get to. Additionally one of the towns - Davis- was a town that there were additional things to see and do something we would not have known if we weren't at this hotel. Overall it was a great hotel to stay at - the only criticism that I would have is that the timing on pick up from the train station could be improved... perhaps additional shuttles during high traffic times of the year... otherwise.... highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank karyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visited boston for a weekend in July. We were hoping to stay in downtown Boston for obviously the convenience of sightseeing but the hotel prices were insanely expensive for our weekend. I found this Hyatt Place for half of the price so decided to give it a try.

It is totally worth to save the money to stay at this hotel. Only 10 min drive to downtown Boston and even though Medford is so close to downtown Boston, once you are in Medford, you feel like you are in a totally different city. It is very quiet with a suburban feel and we truly enjoyed it after experiencing the touristy feel in Boston.

The hotel is a bit outdated and could use some renovation but overall still quite clean. All the staffs are extremely friendly and helpful. At breakfast time there is staff constantly cleaning tables and wiping down the buffet counters. We stayed at Hamptons Inn, Marriot Residence Inn quite often which always comes with free breakfast but I have to say the free breakfast included at this place is one of the best we had - good variety and quality.

The free parking is also a big bonus, considering all hotels in downtown Boston would charge minimum $40 for valet parking per night.

If you cannot find a hotel in downtown Boston for a reasonable price, do not hesitate to stay here. You will not be disappointed especially the money you could save.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mjqueenCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Reasonable priced hotel for proximity to downtown with breakfast and free parking. Spent three nights staff was nice, rooms were decent your typical Hyatt room. Was a 10 min drive in to down town. Go on the Upper Deck trolly tour and your parking is $4 as opposed to parking downtown for $40 for the day

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flyinghighFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
1.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston Cambridge-Arlington
2.5 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
2.7 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
57 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Boston/Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Boston/Medford

Address: 116 Riverside Ave, Medford, MA 02155-4609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
Price Range: £94 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Boston/Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near downtown Boston and only eight miles from Logan International Airport, Hyatt Place Boston/Medford is the ideal choice for casual travelers visiting Bean Town. Our beautifully designed accommodations and travel enhancing amenities create a seamless experience, so you have the simple essentials on your own time. Enjoy modern conveniences and up-close access to our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Boston/Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing