We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster for any price”

Menemsha Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Menemsha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best lobster for any price”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The lobster bisque was the best I have ever tasted. Ordered a combo meal with included the soup a 20 piece shrimp cocktail plus 2 lobsters and slaw. Enjoyed this feast behind the market sitting in a wooded bench using a wooden cable reel for a table. Not for those with cleanliness phobias for them I would recommend take out. But the experience of eating the sweetest lobster ever while overlooking the boat which caught it was an expedience never to be forgotten.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaaahhhhh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    40
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good take-out”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped by Menemsha Fish Market during our annual summer visit. We usually order from the nearby fish market but I'm glad we tried this place. The lobster bisque was delicious with adequate pieces of lobster. The toasted lobster roll was tasty without the usual abundance of mayo. The service was efficient and friendly. Great place to get quick bite before watching the sunset.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great take out”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

For our 44th anniversary, we ordered for takeout to bring back to the house a clam bake which comes with two lobsters, shrimp, clam chowder, and slaw. We ordered it the day ahead and it was ready for pick up freshly prepared when they said it would be. Usually we eat out at one of the Vineyard restaurants but this year decided to eat at the house where we have a beautiful view. It was a delicious meal with the lobsters being among the best we've ever had. The clam chowder was excellent. A helpful touch was that in preparation of our meals, the Menemsha Fish Market had cracked the lobsters in all the right places so the meat was very accessible without all the special tools.

The price was reasonable especially by Vineyard standards. Boaters moored in Menemsha Harbor will also find this a great source of meals while eating on their boat. Great dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlkdhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster roll”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Ate lunch here and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. I wanted to go to Larsens originally but I have to say I had a hot lobster roll with butter and it was amazing! Atmosphere is what it is - an active fishing village - we ate on giant fishing line spools used as picnic tables. I would recommend especially if lines at Larsens are long.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlnart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We followed some of the other advice on here about going to Menemsha Fish Market when the lines at Lamberts were too long. We go the Lobster Bisque, Hot Lobster Rolls and Fish Cakes. The bisque was very good and the lobster rolls were fresh, with a really generous helping. The fish cakes were really blah - kind of boring. All in all, we weren't head over heels. Also, service took forever. I'm not sure that it would have taken much longer for us to have waited at Lambert's even with the lines. That said, the Lobster Rolls were a nice alternative to the usual cold, mayonnaise fare.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HVTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Menemsha Fish Market also viewed

Menemsha, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Menemsha Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing