We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-conducted food symphony”
Review of The Alvah Stone

The Alvah Stone
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Montague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Alvah Stone is an authentic American restaurant and bar open in the historic Montague Bookmill. Our space is a comfortable neighborhood joint with strong ties to the community and to local farms. Our goal is simplicity executed perfectly.
western mass
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well-conducted food symphony”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband took me to the Alvah Stone for the first time Saturday night for dinner. And I am so glad he did. We just loved the food. We were both really impressed with the way all the flavors of the ingredients featured in each dish worked together. The essence of each flavor seemed really clear and bright. The unique medley of flavors worked really well together...in perfect balance. The chicken liver mousse with onion marmalade melted in our mouths. We just loved the bass in lobster broth with braised fennel and cherry tomatoes. Everything we tried just worked and gave us a sense of surprise in each bite. The casual atmosphere was very comfortable and service was very spirited. Although we were sorry to learn that the previous restaurant here, the Night Kitchen, had closed, we think this new chef makes the new place even better. May the menu excitement continue!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annaliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    20
    6
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montague, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You have got to love this place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Alvah Stone: named for the original owner of the 1834 grist mill which sits along the Sawmill River in Montague. There have been a number of restaurants here over the past three decades, all of them noteworthy. But what Howard Wein has brought to this restaurant is nothing less than sheer cutting edge genius. He brings a lot of experience to this little New England town, which still has that wonderful 19th Century feel about it, having operated restaurants in places as different as New York, Miami, San Francisco, Boston and London. My wife and I have eaten here three times in the past three weeks--twice for dinner and once for Sunday brunch, and everything we've tasted has been a genuine delight. Can you imagine a large pretzel being worth the time to talk about it? But it was warm and soft and salty, and served with a jar of warm mild jalapeno sauce and pickled vegetables on a cutting board. That's just for starters! The drinks are brilliantly, surprisingly concocted, and the bar space is welcoming. It's great to see so many of our neighbors here, enjoying a drink and some talk and quiet laughter, as well as people from all over visiting Western Massachusetts. The meals are of the nature of haute cuisine, whether it is a hamburger or the fish of the day or chicken or pork. And then there are the falls behind the outdoor deck, or to be relished from a window view inside in any season. And what a friendly, intelligent staff. One could go on, but you get the idea. It is as if the chef and the staff were there just for you. And there's a good chance you will run into Howard himself. Who would have thought, here in this quiet old town, a slice of New York and Paris!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul41693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turners Falls, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

After reading the other reviews we were puzzled. We sat at our table for at least 10 minutes before we even saw a menu, although the drink menu came immediately. There was an interesting but small selection of entrees. They were very inflexible to substitutions or swapping side dishes. Two had the haddock which was very good especially with the pepper sauce. One had the smoked chicken which presentation was unappealing. Whe the chef was questioned, he indicated that he focused on flavor not appearance. The other party had clams and andouille pasta which seemed to have a slightly fishy taste. Considering the other wonderful local restaurants, this is one that we would not be in a hurry to return. The setting and location in an old mill is, however, very charming.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy040205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was in Newport, RI recently for restaurant week. In one restaurant the food tasted good but was not hot; in another the food was hot but not all that tasty. In a third the food was good and hot but the restaurant was too loud. We came back to Western Massachusetts with a renewed appreciation of our local food scene. Last night we experienced the Alvah Stone for the first time. What a lovely experience and the food was one amazing taste after another. The restaurant was packed so the word must be getting out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thevisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you're not local, you may think you're in the middle of no where but you're actually heading for one of the best meals you'll have. We were fortunate to have brunch here on Easter. The weather was perfect so we sat outside next to the waterfall but the interior is equally inviting.

There's a lot to like about this place: the decor is stylish but not overdone, the menu is extremely creative but approachable and the cocktails are very imaginative. Although it was brunch, we had to try the matzo ball soup, delicious broth and light if you can believe it matzo balls. The chef smokes his own bacon and pastrami, so that was a no brainer. The pastrami was the best I've ever tasted and it was served with homemade pickles, a really nice touch. The biscuit sandwich was perfection, light, buttery biscuit and delicious bacon. Served with a Bloody Mary (made with cucumber infused vodka) it was the ideal way to enjoy a warm Sunday.
The service is friendly and very professional. Everyone seemed to really enjoy working there.

We checked out the dinner menu and it looks even better, lots of interesting choices and I love the idea of small plates so you can sample lots of things.

Do yourselves a favor and find this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alvah Stone also viewed

 

Been to The Alvah Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing