We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the real "Kelleys"”
Review of Kelly's Roast Beef

Kelly's Roast Beef
Ranked #11 of 133 Restaurants in Natick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Restaurant details
Newton, MA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not the real "Kelleys"”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just because this place carries the name Kelley's, it doesn't mean it has the same quality of food. We have been three times each time thinking it would be better. No dice. The beef is overcooked, dry and tasteless. The sandwiches are a good size but I would prefer less meat and more flavor to what they offer. I hope those that have never had a real Kelley's RB sandwich don't come away thinking this is the real deal. It ain't. Unless you're already at the furniture store and are very, very hungry I wouldn't bother. There is a nice view from this location as it is high up on a hill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fish is OK but Tasteless Roast Beef & Onion Rings”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Definite mixed reviews on this place.

Good
Fish and salad were good. Fries are decent

Bad
Roast Beef - Dry and tasteless, even after adding mayo or bbq sauce. You get a lot of roast beef in the large sandwich - as you should for $7.75 with no sides.
Onion Rings - Tasteless, though made with real onions vs. being practically all batter the way they are at some places.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProperBostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Roast Beef Sandwich”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Their beef sandwich is the best! Never order a large anything because you will NEVER be able to finish it! Just note that they do not salt ANYTHING, I am not a big salt user, just basically use salt to cook, but their food ALL nees a bit of salt! Their fish is good but if you don't like onions don't eat their tartar sauce because it is full of raw onion, bring you own!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UmassMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MASS.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic foods!”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We make the trip a few times a year to Kelly's. The roast beef sandwiches are great, the onion rings are the best and the pint of clam chowder make this trio absolutely delicious. Now for the fried clams, yes they are the best in the area!! Lightly battered, always crispy and hot and served golden brown, now that I have reviewed them I will be off today to stop in here again as I made myself crazy just thinking about Kelly's!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A GREAT Roast Beef Sandwich”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Who would expect a GREAT roast beef sandwich would be available in a little restaurant tucked into the front corner of a furniture store (Jordan's)? What a find! This is the way roast beef sandwiches are SUPPOSED to taste. YUMMY!!! If you're in the area, and want an exceptional sandwich, stop here. I ordered the large - definitely a meal. And they also have the neatest soft drink dispensing machine I have ever seen. Almost worth a stop by itself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly's Roast Beef also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's Roast Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing