We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel”
Review of Sweet Basil

Sweet Basil
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in Needham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Middleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great restaurant,casual quaint dinning experience. It's a small restaurant so seating is limited, be prepared for about an hour wait. Keep your eyes open as they come around with appetizers. The food is all cooked to order. They have a special pasta cooker which serves up your food super hot. For an appetizer try the roasted Gouda, it's to die for. We also favor the chicken rosemary with crispy pancetta. As an added bonus it'a a BYOB, glasses for beer are free, but there is a $5 cork fee for wine, there is no coffee or desert, but you can bring your own, but be warned Fri. and Sat. there is a plate charge for dessert, can't really blame them for that. The staff is the most friendly and devoted as you can get, they move around very well in such a small area. I think you'll enjoy this hidden jewel, Munga

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waynes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    80
    35
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food and quaint atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We are traveling and was given the recommendation for Sweet Basil. It is BYOB, which is great. The recommendations we were given were the beet and goat cheese salad (awesome!) the Rosemary chicken (awesome!) and the pea gnocchi (never again...). So we did pretty well. The lackluster gnocchi would not deter me from eating there again. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a low-key night with great food.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Although this restaurant is wonderful and on the upper scale of class, the setting is casual. You can BYOB and the food is exceptional. The portions are BIG so be cautious when ordering but I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something amazing in a small town location. It can be a bit pricier and the room is small and cramped because of popularity, but it's a wonderful place to try at least once if you're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Emrah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
374 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GREAT”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When in the Boston area, this is a must. It's BYOB, and crowded always. Food is excellent, service is great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doc491002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean Food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a family dinner for five people here and it was a very good meal. While waiting for our appetizers and mains, they provided us with very good crusty bread and an excellent pesto. The mussels in white wine were outstanding for flavour even if the mussels were a tad small. The main courses here are enormous and if, you have had an appetizer, it may be hard to finish a full main. Three of us had their excellent Lamb Shanks that came served with a variety of roasted vegetables and an amazingly rich polenta base. This was an excellent meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teng-Lum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Basil also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing