We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful new hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Boston Needham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Needham
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Needham
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful new hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed two nights using my Marriott Reward points. The hotel is spacious, attractive and very clean. Our room/suite had a king bed and pull out couch for our son. Kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and utensils. The breakfast was excellent and varied each day, with many hot items to choose from and fresh fruit. Parking is free, which is a nice perk. And the hotel is conveniently located right off of Route 128/95. We felt the staff could have been trained better, however. The young woman at the registration desk gave us a very curt greeting and then immediately asked for my ID. I felt like I was under arrest. I would have appreciated a warmer, friendlier greeting and a recognition of my Marriott Rewards membership. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Needham, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Rachel,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Boston and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, new facility, and excellent breakfast. We apologize for the service failure you experienced during check-in; we will share your comments with our front desk staff and use them as a training opportunity. We value your business and hope to host you again.

Best,
Michael Gendrin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    125
    29
    16
    6
See reviews for
113
58
9
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

second stay here and the fresh new place is still that. It is increasingly popular as the hotel was sold out and I could not check in early. the front desk quickly checked my bag for the day and sent me on my way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolJSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

As described in other reviews it is very noisy due to the Coca Cola plant across the street. Further adding to that noise is a very large dip in the road between the plant and the hotel which causes even more of a disturbance. The trucks hit that dip and make a tremendous bang. If the city would fill in the dip, I think that would alleviate that part of the problem. The hotel is only a year old. The furnishings, decorations etc are all looking good.
We have been here for three weeks with two rooms, three dogs, a cat and 3 kids.The staff is super friendly and really helpful. We haven't experienced any issues with noise inside the hotel. The laundry room is a huge help. The food is modest and very convenient. My kids have really enjoyed the breakfast, especially the waffle maker! Several nights a week there has been dinner available. Again, the food is modest but let's not forget, included in the price.
The hotel isn't a luxurious getaway nor is it intended to be. It is a functional, easy place to be when you aren't at home.
The Wifi works without issue and is free.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side opposite the Coke plant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 399Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
192 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent two weekday nights, and yes there is the noise issue especially if you face B street, which we did. However, I do not feel the noise was a deal breaker. The hotel is only a year old and is very well kept. We had the studio suite and it was spacious, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Monday -Wednesday they offer food down in the bar area which we thought was a nice touch. There is a cash bar. We thought the breakfast was above par, and enjoyed it both mornings. All the staff, (front desk, maids, maintenance, bartenders, breakfast attendants) are extremely friendly and helpful. The staff seems well trained and to have bought in to the idea of servicing the guest! We were extremely pleased with our stay at this Residence inn, and if in the area again will stay here, although will request not to be facing B street. Coincidental they are building the headquarters for TripAdviser next to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request away from B street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mss12078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Needham, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our well-trained and professional staff and that we've earned your return business. We value your 5-star rating and look forward to hosting you again.

Best,
Michael Gendrin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel.. breakfast is outstanding...three hot items and many other cold items. Laundry room is very modern with 4 washers and 6 dryers. Hotel staff is pleasant except that staff member that checked me did not greet me as an elite member.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Needham, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our outstanding breakfast, convenient laundry room, and friendly staff. We value your 5-star recommendation to fellow travelers and look forward to having you back.

Best,
Michael Gendrin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel seems to get good reviews for the most part and I agree with a lot that I have read. Now here is the te real truth from an extended stay resident, that would be me....First impressions of this hotel are good, it's clean, fairly well decorated, comfortable and offers at least some amenities. However (and this is a big however!), once you get past the decor and furnishings and the really low grade food that is part of the deal, this hotel is far from great. The big killer is the noise, you have to stay for a few nights to really understand the gravity of the situation. It's absolutely horrible. All night long...thuds and thumps, people talking, yelling, tv's blaring, etc. This hotel is so poorly constructed, it's beyond pitiful. I've stayed in far cheaper hotels than this one and haven't had half of the noise. The staff seems willing to address the issues but who wants to have to call the front desk multiple times per week because of noise issues? At the end of the day, it's not something that the staff can fix. It's baked into the place, my suggestion...avoid

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are better, avoid the Coke place across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Needham, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Tom,

I sincerely apologize for the ambient noise that disturbed your sleep during your stay with us. We are currently looking into noise dampening solutions and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a restful, comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
Michael Gendrin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This brand new Residence Inn is a dream for locals and business folk who need a convenient and nice place to stay for several days it more. The staff is super friendly and the place operates flawlessly. Unfortunately they can't control it's fatal location: right next to a Coca Cola factory that has dozens (yes dozens) of tractor trailers moving throughout the night. Blaring "reverse beeps", horns, loud engines revving to speed up upon exit... It was non stop. All night. For four nights. While the staff offered to change our room, it was clear this was an ongoing issue and one that "swapping to the other side" likely wouldn't fix. Bring a sound machine to drown it out or hit the Sheraton.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Needham
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Natick
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Needham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Needham

Property: Residence Inn Boston Needham
Address: 80 B St, Needham, MA 02494-2702
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Needham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Needham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Needham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all-suite comfort and renowned Marriott service in the New England suburb of Needham, MA. With spacious, apartment-style suites that give you the room to work, enjoy and unwind, the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Needham is a stylish and contemporary new hotel only 9.2 Miles from the heart of downtown Boston. Add a little style to your stay in one of 128 beautifully appointed suites complete with full kitchens and free perks that include Wi-Fi Internet, a hot, sumptuous breakfast buffet each morning and weekday evening manager's receptions. For visits of a night, a week, a month or more, our Marriott Needham, MA hotel captures the urban energy and flair of a downtown Boston hotel without downtown hotel prices. The chic bar and lounge is the perfect spot for connecting with colleagues or relaxing with friends. Leisure amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center and completely chemical-free indoor heated saltwater pool. Two event venues offer a sophisticated backdrop for conferences and special occasions, with professional Marriott event planners and caterers to inspire every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Needham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing