We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NY
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We're a family of four and recently spent a couple of nights at Shirakaba. Wonderful hosts. Louise and Sadao capture the essence of Japanese and American hospitality. Great breakfast and baked goods. Everything was cooked to perfection. Lovely pool and hot tub. They went all out for us, even arranging to have a pizza delivered for dinner. Thank you Louise and Sadao for a special weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
242322
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We are a family of five and decided to spend five days skiing at the nearby Jiminy Peak station and were looking for a convenient place to stay. Shirakaba ended up being the highlight of our vacation. We lived in Japan for six years and were looking forward to Japanese-style lodging but nothing prepared us for the incredible dedication we experienced from our hosts. Louise and Sadao have a sense of hospitality that definitively goes beyond anything you would expect from a bed and breakfast. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi were a real treat after a day on the slopes and the house itself is very airy and welcoming with a genuine Japanese feel. The breakfast choices are unlimited and generous, and we thoroughly enjoyed our 6-course Japanese diner prepared by Sadao. But what made our stay unforgettable is the passion Louise and Sadao put in making their guests feel so special. From shuttling us back and forth to the ski lifts so we could avoid parking problems, showering us with souvenirs, teaching us how to play mahjong, decorating the house for our daughter's birthday, giving us snacks to eat on the slopes, the list goes on and on. Their generosity, nurturing and humor blew us away. Our youngest son ended up asking why we had to go skying since we were having so much fun at the house. You may indeed be tempted to skip excursions to spend more time with your hosts. As we were leaving we truly felt we had become family. Thank you Louise and Sadao for turning our stay into a real experience!

Room Tip: We ended up booking both rooms - having the whole house to ourselves was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisphi_guelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We visited Shirakaba for one night in early December -- arriving on Sunday afternoon and leaving around noon on Monday. We were the only guests and were treated like a combination guests/friends of the family.

After we arrived and settled in, we took a walk to the Gazebo about 5 minutes down their road. We sat in the chill night air for a while looked at the stars, the houses across the road and hardly noticed the traffic on Rt 7 some 100' below. The Gazebo was located on a nicely landscaped piece of land -- just perfect for a wedding.

The food was great -- all of it. Between our hosts, Louise and Sadao, they cooked up a storm and were just wonderful to be with. It was a pleasure to talk to them, hear their stories and marvel at the attention to detail in the house.

Although we didn't take advantage of the swimming pool, we did use the hot tub and the sauna. Both were wonderfully refreshing and were a great way to end the day before slipping into the king sized Tempurpedic bed for a wonderfully restful sleep. Our bed had a number of pillows to suit one's taste for firmness -- including a traditional Japanese buckwheat husk pillow. (That type of pillow was firm but would mold itself to your head contour and was just wonderful.)

We could have but didn't use the traditional tatami-mat room in our suite or the traditional Japanese dinner table. We chose to sit at a Western-style dinner table since one of us had traveled to Japan and did enough sitting on tatami mats.

To give us a sense of intimacy, Louise set up a traditional screen with wonderful artwork. Just that touch made us forget we were sitting in the dining area near the kitchen.

We highly recommend staying here and using it as a base to explore Williamstown and the surrounding area. We had a short but wonderful experience that we hope to enjoy again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Our stay at Berkshire-Shirakaba was restful and restorative: Louise and Sadao capture the essence of Japanese and American hospitality with Japanese aesthetics and American warmth. We loved the tatami/tokonoma rooms which we enjoyed as part of our suite and as a dining room as part of the house. Our sukiyaki dinner was exquisite, delicious and beautifully paced; we felt transported to Japan as we enjoyed our meal admiring the Japanese architecture along with the koto music. The accommodations are beautiful and peaceful, the indoor pool a real treat. Louise and Sadao took such attentive care of us we were fortified to continue our exploration of the Berkshires. Their hospitality and generosity, the location, the building and the amenities combine to make this a highlight in our years of travel. Tom and I thank Louise and Sadao for a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: We loved having the Japanese style suite with its tatami room and Japanese desk. The setting feels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank washoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Our stay at the Shirakaba Guest House was different from any other B&B experience we have had. The rooms were not luxurious but the service was. Sadao made a wonderful dinner. Louise made the most fabulous desserts including cookies of our choice which she also sent us home with. The breakfast was wonderful. And of couse, it was even better eating and sitting around in the kimonos which they provided for us. The beds and bedding were very comforable, and Sadao and Louise were always looking for any way to make our stay more comfortable. They created a very personal and relaxing week-end, and we hope to go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I did not know what to expect when a friend suggested that we take few days to let go of the Anxiety and Stress of everyday living and just "Chill out with three girlfriends". It simply blew my mind; the Innkeepers Louise an Sadao were incredible. They prepared the most delicious Breakfast and Dinner for us. We became Japanese; sitting at our Japanese Dining Room Table with our Proper Robe for the occasion supplied to us at the Inn. We were served and cared for in such a respectible, caring way. The Bedrooms were so Comfortable; the Pool's ceiling lights were calming at night and we took advantage of the Hot Tub and the Spa. We had massages of our choice around the pool in the morning and hurried home at night to anxiously await; Louise's homemade Chocolate Chip Cookies. The food was prepared for our Dinner; and a 5 star dinner was served. The Breakfast was made to order and we had at our disposal; every movie, music, board games; there was nothing left to the imagination. You asked; it appeared. We bonded with these two wonderful people and they became our friends. We jibbed one night when we returned from a night out in New Ashford: "Mom were home". That is how comfortable you will feel at this wonderful jewel in the Berkshires. So if your looking for a place to go and leave the world behind for a few days; you will be pleasantly surprised. Addie Castaldo

Room Tip: I loved my room; so I can't rate which one I would prefer. I had a Corner Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Innkeepers Louise and Sadao have blended the best of Japan and the Berkshires to provide a unique and welcoming B&B like no other. Having read the very positive New York Times review, hubby and I booked a stay for leaf-peeping and relaxation. The innkeepers did everything imaginable to make our stay special, from decorating the tatami room for hubby's bday to making his favorite red bean ice cream for dessert. From the ultra-luxe bed linens to the tasty Japanese breakfast to the comfy yukatas for lounging around in, this was a getaway to remember. Don't miss the gazebo with a view of the rolling hills!

Room Tip: We had the "take" suite (translation: bamboo), which includes one queen bed in the big roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
13.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Property: Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing