We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely East/West Blend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ny
1 review
“Lovely East/West Blend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

*Our hosts provided a "retreat" atmosphere and did everything possible to prepare for and pamper us.
*It is a very peaceful and beautiful setting but also convenient to many activities. We were able to visit Jacob's Pillow,Tanglewood, Mt. Greylock and the Shaker Village all in 2 days and 2 nights. (Picnic basket, bug spray, blanket and chairs are all available if you like to sit on the lawn at Tanglewood. Louise really does think of everything.)
*Our massage therapists were excellent and we enjoyed the bonus of having them at the cliff side gazebo that is set in a native rock garden. The lap pool, sauna and hot tub and beautiful grounds all contribute to a private and restorative experience.
*Our only regret was that we were unable to order the special Japanese dinner, but plan to return soon.

Room Tip: We especially enjoyed the Bamboo Suite's location within the house because the soothing sounds o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were an extended family of 6 during our week-long stay - 2 families of 3 each. The accomodations gave us each privacy as a family as well as great shared spaces. We found the rooms immaculate and well appointed. The caretakers were accomodating to our known and unknown needs. The preparations of the proprietors were extensive with a pre-trip selection questionairre that provided numerous choices and options. This included bathrobes, slippers, personalized Japanese washclothes, extensive breakfast and home-made cookie an ice cream choices - daily. The house is designed in the Japanese style, including a cliff-side gazebo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Shirabaka to anyone that needs a vacation of pampering and relaxation.

Room Tip: This inn has only 2 rooms - both are very nice. Bathrooms have Asian appliances..
See more room tips
Green Features: Geo-thermal wells heat the water and supply the air conditioning. Each room has a recycling can as well as a trash can.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Last weekend was our second visit to Shirakaba. The location is wonderful -- both the property itself and its proximity to lovely places to visit. The hosts are fantastic, making us feel welcome in every way. Our rooms were peaceful and totally private. The meals at Shirakaba are true fantasy. The Japanese breakfast (you can also have an American breakfast - but why would you??) supplemented by wonderful cinnamon rolls is fabulous. On both visits, we prearranged dinner, and, what a dinner!!! Bring your own Sake from home (there isn't much available in local liquor stores) and be prepared for one of the best meals you will ever have. We started with an appetizer in the Gazebo, and moved to our our tatami room for dinner. It was truly heaven.

we will be back. again and again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cls13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary, and it was perfect. The house was beautiful, and the hosts were the kindest, sweetest people I've ever met, and so very attentive. I loved the indoor pool, it was great exercise, and the hot tub under the stars at night was so beautiful and relaxing. We only managed to use the hot tub one night, because the temperpedic bed was so comfortable, once we laid on it, we were asleep in minutes. The food was amazing! We had a sukiyaki dinner and a sushi making lesson dinner, and both were amazing, with plenty of leftovers. The breakfasts are great, you have to try the filled pancakes at least once, and the sticky buns are to die for! It was a relaxing, memorable stay, and I was sad to leave. Can't wait to find time to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Matsu no Ma suite, and in the summer, you have very easy back porch access to the h...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was thrilled to know that this was a green property, and they're working very hard to protect the environment. I was also pleased to see that they grow some of their own foods, like the tomatoes on the porch. Sadly they weren't ripe yet for our visit. Maybe next year!
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I felt as if Shirakaba were in the middle of all the beautiful places I wanted to see in the Berkshires (Clark, Williams, MassMOCA) and what made the journey even better was recognizing that it was a work of art of its own. The accommodations, the food, the dances...all were 0% +...so if you want to learn more about how to serve or how to share your leadership with client s from KyotoShirakaba... Japanese sleeping combined with Japanese mores....so lovely and I hope that you will feel the same. Many thanks Shirakaba for being you,

Kit Williams

Room Tip: All are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I'm back home and pining away to return to my birthday getaway retreat. My husband planned my 30th birthday in this romantic, beautiful setting. Shirakaba has everything you need and more - 20+ acres of beautiful woods with a gorgeous pathway to a private gazebo overlooking a stunning hillside, a private lap pool/jacuzzi/and sauna, traditional Japanese elements throughout from the table settings to the overall architecture, decorations and gifts prepared with YOU in mind, the most gracious and thoughtful hosts (they baked me my favorite type of cake and prepared my favorite kinds of ice creams and sorbets - all from scratch - japanese and american style! and also sent me with all sorts of free goodies), and of course - the food, OH THE FOOD - sooo delicious! the mushrooms, the miso soup (best I've ever had) I salivate at the memory. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Stay at the traditional Japanese room - really special! But all the rooms look pretty fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zafreen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Having read the other reviews I'm not sure what to add. My spouse conspired with the hosts to surprise me for my 50th birthday, so I arrived to streamers, signs and delicious treats. Between the twenty choices of homemade ice cream and cookies galore, I was in heaven. The suite was welcoming, calming and well appointed. We took advantage of the swimming pool, sauna and hot ton as well as the back porch and grounds. Everything about the Guest House -from the facade to the decorations was a tasteful mix of Japanese and New England. There's plenty to explore in the area from Mt. Greylock to the Clark Art Museum and a nice mix of restaurants as well. Definitely check it out!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniTroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
13.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Property: Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing