We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet...on so many levels”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Louise and Sadao's hospitality is just as amazing as the other reviewers have said. And since we came back, my sweetie and I have told everyone they MUST go here for a weekend. The place is gorgeous: a japanese style home they built from the ground up. Visually, sweet. The breakfasts? I loved every morsel of the Japanese breakfast, but especially the homemade vegetables. And we both loved Louise's sweet rolls: a perfect taste of the midwest.

We also spent a lot of the rainy romantic weekend in the screened in porch. One afternoon, in the middle of stunning thunderstorms, it was set up for our side by side massages. And after showering and spending time in the hot tub, we came back upstairs for a relaxing, absolutely delicious multi-course Japanese dinner, expertly cooked by Sadao.

Add on to that the nearby Mass MOCA, Williams College, and the fabulous nearby farmstand and you have the perfect weekend for a pair of citified New Yorkers (or anyone else).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenCityNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our wonderful kids found this B&B and sent us to celebrate our birthdays. We have never felt so special. Sadao & Louise are the ultimate hosts. The food was out of this world, both breakfast and the special dinner and all the goodies in between. We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars, the indoor swimming pool, the gazebo, the fish pond and the lovely winding driveway that was filled with "Happy Birthday" signs. All the little extras made our stay so great, and we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Thank you, Louise and Sadao for a fabulous stay at Shirakaba. They are the ultimate hosts and we left slightly teary-eyed after such a great three-day stay. We were treated to an extravagant Japanese-style breakfast, given tips on nearby hiking trails, loaded up on homemade chocolate chip cookies, brownies and Louise's famous sticky buns (recipe, please!). We loved our sushi-making class and miss the tempur-pedic beds... We left with a car-load of goodies for us and our kids (who stayed at home). Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kibo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I live in New York City and wanted to be somewhere peaceful and beautiful to renew my health and spirit -- Shirakaba was just the ticket! I went off-season in the early Spring for which they offered an attractive deal and had the place to myself: swimming indoors while there was snow on the ground, enjoying the jacuzzi and sauna on my own, walking out to the gazebo to see the view. It was a dream to be out of the city meditating, sleeping on a very clean, comfortable bed, preparing and eating traditional Japanese food with my hosts, reading and resting. I've lived in Kyoto and appreciated the authentic home-cooking and traditional seating and dinner settings. Please do not expect upscale Manhattan, latest en vogue meals and trends; this is traditional and homey, yummy and warming, seasonal and according to what is available to the chef (he travels to the MY Metro area to get authentic ingredients). I also felt at home watching movies on a large screen and having an entire couch to myself! This was the kind of vacation my hosts and I created and it quickly helped me to readjust to the pace of city life.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but ask the hosts for a recommendation - they know which ones work for dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konketsujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

*Our hosts provided a "retreat" atmosphere and did everything possible to prepare for and pamper us.
*It is a very peaceful and beautiful setting but also convenient to many activities. We were able to visit Jacob's Pillow,Tanglewood, Mt. Greylock and the Shaker Village all in 2 days and 2 nights. (Picnic basket, bug spray, blanket and chairs are all available if you like to sit on the lawn at Tanglewood. Louise really does think of everything.)
*Our massage therapists were excellent and we enjoyed the bonus of having them at the cliff side gazebo that is set in a native rock garden. The lap pool, sauna and hot tub and beautiful grounds all contribute to a private and restorative experience.
*Our only regret was that we were unable to order the special Japanese dinner, but plan to return soon.

Room Tip: We especially enjoyed the Bamboo Suite's location within the house because the soothing sounds o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were an extended family of 6 during our week-long stay - 2 families of 3 each. The accomodations gave us each privacy as a family as well as great shared spaces. We found the rooms immaculate and well appointed. The caretakers were accomodating to our known and unknown needs. The preparations of the proprietors were extensive with a pre-trip selection questionairre that provided numerous choices and options. This included bathrobes, slippers, personalized Japanese washclothes, extensive breakfast and home-made cookie an ice cream choices - daily. The house is designed in the Japanese style, including a cliff-side gazebo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Shirabaka to anyone that needs a vacation of pampering and relaxation.

Room Tip: This inn has only 2 rooms - both are very nice. Bathrooms have Asian appliances..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Last weekend was our second visit to Shirakaba. The location is wonderful -- both the property itself and its proximity to lovely places to visit. The hosts are fantastic, making us feel welcome in every way. Our rooms were peaceful and totally private. The meals at Shirakaba are true fantasy. The Japanese breakfast (you can also have an American breakfast - but why would you??) supplemented by wonderful cinnamon rolls is fabulous. On both visits, we prearranged dinner, and, what a dinner!!! Bring your own Sake from home (there isn't much available in local liquor stores) and be prepared for one of the best meals you will ever have. We started with an appetizer in the Gazebo, and moved to our our tatami room for dinner. It was truly heaven.

we will be back. again and again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cls13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
18.7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
167 reviews
19.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
22.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
512 reviews
6.8 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range: £261 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing