We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

An absolutely wonderful place to stay! The hosts are charming and accommodating in every aspect. The house itself is beautifully built and fosters calm relaxation, as does the gorgeous sylvan landscape all around it. The bedrooms are cozy and furnished with excellent beds, and the hosts' home cooking for meals is scrumptious. And as if all that isn't enough, there is a heated pool, a hot tub and a sauna! I went there for a skiing weekend, but I would go back any time of year just for how good the stay is.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in had a king-sized western-style bed, which was quite spacious and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I recently had a lovely ski weekend in the berkshires with some friends and we had the most delightful brunch here. We had a relaxing meander down to the gazebo before we settled onto the tatami mats for a delightful meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Wow, what an amazing spot. Situated along a birch tree-lined private ridge, you get the sense you've stepped away to another place. The hosts are warm and inviting while the house lends itself to a blend of open and private. Look up and appreciate the traditional architecture and hand carved craftsmanship or go down to the pool for a swim or hit the sauna to sweat it out. Excellent breakfast with a ton of gluten-free options. Close to all the outdoor fun you want, skiing, biking, hiking. Getaway and REALLY RELAX at the Berkshires Shirakaba.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Before entering the house you sense an air of calm. Located high on the ridge with only trees surrounding you and mountains to look at, you find your inner zen. Once inside, that same sense of calm continues. All thoughts of city life and deadlines are gone. You have entered a different world.

The bedrooms change according to the size of your group or how much privacy you require. The beds are super comfy and bathrooms are great (heated seat with bidet!).

The morning breakfast is a feast in itself. We had a group of 6 with varying food allergies and we were taken care of with no issues. Even gluten free sticky bits!

I highly recommend a getaway here. Between breakfast, hot tub, sauna, pool, ski slopes close by and Mass MOCA only a half hour north.... You have found a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderwaterThemepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our first time in the Berkshires. We chose this B&B thru a link on Jiminy Peak lodging. But this is not your usual B&B. Before we even arrived late fri evening we felt welcomed and at home. Louise had been corresponding with me on which brands and types of drinks or foods that we'd like our fridge stocked with. She was baking cookies and listed many additions to choose from. She asked our heights and shoe sizes for robes and slippers. And sent us the local menus so we'd have takeout waiting for us when we arrived at7pm on a freezing Jan night. I felt as though I knew Louise already! She showed us around their spacious home including the indoor pool room with jacuzzi and sauna. The next morning brought a sunny magnificent surround view atop this mountain home. The Temperpedic bed was wonderful and our 3 children 17,18,20 didn't want to get out of the comfy futons! Sadao was busy preparing our hot breakfast which we chose from the menu the night before. Eating in the Tatami room was fun! We all were given an additional taste plate of the Japanese breakfast that my son ordered. My favorite became the rolled egg omelet type, Tamago. But everything that Louise and Sadao prepared, we quickly recognized, was with the genuine love to please their guests. This is an experience of hospitality with the bonus of Japanese culture like you have never known before from complete strangers. Those next two days were filled with anything you wanted. quiet, conversation, laughter, beautiful sunset over the mountain. There were so many delightful surprises throughout the home. Louise taught us how to play Marjon! She arranged an on site massage for me with a local therapist. She embroidered an anchor for my daughter on the souvenir cloths, and musical notes and a guitar for my boys. And here's the big thing: I mentioned that my brother and his family that we hadn't seen in a while were driving to meet us and before I could even ask their recommendation for dinner, Louise quickly told me to have them bring their bathing suits to hang out together and offered to get food so we could spend some quality time. She baked cookies made tea and homemade ice cream for all 9 of us! This is what I mean about over the top hospitality! Sadao and Louise will spoil you and treat you as their own family. This is my happy place in the Berkshires. We look forward to our next visit during a warmer time to enjoy the beautiful gardens and cliff side gazebo. But most of all we will visit our new friends! Thank you Louise! Thank you Sadao! You made our weekend very special and memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineola, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for a ski weekend and an unexpected great experience. Before we arrived they baked cookies and even had take out waiting for us at our arrival late at night. We loved the indoor pool, hot tub and suana and the warm comfy robes and slippers. The Japanese breakfast is a true experience not to be missed. Louise and Sadao are exceptional hosts and truly love to cater to every need. The house is beautiful and has wonderful feeling of home. We will come back to experience relaxing spa like home again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

As our third time to the wonderful Shirakaba Guest House, my family and I had yet another incredible stay under the gracious care of co-owners Louise and Sadao-san. The setting, tucked away on the top of a hill in the mountains of the Berkshires, is only the beginning of an unforgettable hotel experience, for once you step foot inside the Japanese ryokan ambiance envelops you as the charming co-owners tend to your every need. The whole home has a very new and clean feel, both in the private rooms as well as the common areas. From delicious home-baked cookies and savory Japanese breakfast to the memory foam mattresses and heated indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna, our multiple family stays at Shirakaba have always been such a pleasure that we plan on coming back many more times in future.

For those seeking a rustic and quiet getaway with a Japanese touch, we cannot recommend Shirakaba Guest House enough!

Green Features: Won the TripAdvisor Green award for its use of geothermal and wind power from local wind mills, meaning your stay is equal parts guest and ecologically friendly.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
13.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Property: Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing