We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb French Restaurant”

The Mill on the Floss
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb French Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Located in a historical converted and expanded farmhouse, originally built in the early 1920s, the restaurant offers a diverse and creative menu as well as an extensive wine list. Service was friendly and attentive and the food was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    22
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“French food in rustic setting”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had dinner here on my trip to the Berkshires with my sisters. The dinner was just excellent. We had the tournedos bearnaise and the sliced beef tenderloin. The meats were done to perfection, as were the side dishes. But of course, it's the sauces that really set them apart from just very good. As with most places we went for dinner, we couldn't possibly each eat a whole meal, so our usual solution was to share a meal and an appetizer. At this restaurant, however, the shared plate charge was quite significant and so we each ordered our own meal. Since we were traveling, there was no use in taking left overs home so we had to leave some excellent food behind. The building is quite rustic. It is very woodsy inside and out. That made the room fairly dark, but still cozy and welcoming. The service was excellent - friendly and attentive. We enjoyed our visit to Mill on the Floss. The fine food made it worth the extra cost.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Sat by the fire on a cold night. Celebrating our 40th anniversary. Service was top shelf the meal was as good as it gets and having made a special request when making my reservation (a fresh red rose). Without question or a pause. We will certainly return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank derek q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING GEM!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I ate at the Mill on the Floss on our recent Ski Vacation up at Jiminy Peak in Hancock Mass. Our meal at the Mill on the Floss was not only the best meal we had that trip, but one of the better meals I've experienced at a restaurant. The atmosphere is like a cozy ski lodge - with warm decor and a crackling fireplace; it is truly inviting. The food and cocktails were superb. We split the escargot for an appetizer, and literally licked up every bite. I had the sweetbreads for dinner - which were probably the best sweetbreads I've ever eaten. My husband's duck was perfectly cooked and seasoned. For desert, the blueberry cobbler and hazelnut cake were amazing, though the highlight was the specialty hot chocolates with just the right amount of sweetness and spirits. The service was friendly, attentive, and personable. I would HIGHLY recommend the Mill on the Floss to anyone visiting the Pittsfield, Williamstown, Hancock area and will certainly be returning on my next visit to Jiminy Peak.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soon2bworldtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cozy French Dining”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Some friends of ours have long lauded this restaurant as their favorite. We finally dined there last night and it was a wonderful evening -- a table by a roaring fireplace, cozy rustic decor, terrific service, tasty food, excellent wine selection. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeRecluse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill on the Floss also viewed

 

Been to The Mill on the Floss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing