We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal with good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill on the Floss

The Mill on the Floss
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good meal with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Mill on the Floss is a cozy restaurant. I appreciated it's relatively quiet dining room with ample space between tables. The food was generally well-prepared and the portion size was moderate.
The one disappointment was the pasta in vodka sauce, which was my appetizer. The sauce was watery and the vodka added a bitter edge to the dish. My main dish of shrimp was good and dessert was a tasty blueberry cobbler. Our waitress was pleasant and professional. It's a restaurant to which I would return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    21
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Classy, Quiet Room With Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The food is pretty good here, but not exceptional. Rigatoni in a vodka sauce was bitter, but the corn chowder was tasty. Shrimp, veal and duck main dishes were very good, but portions were small. Blueberry cobbner was good and the accompanying vanilla ice cream, very rich and creany. Our witress, DeeDee, was extremely nice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Finally ate there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Been going to Berkshires for 35 years and never ate here. Far from where we stay. This year we subscribed to Williamstown Theater & pass the restaurant on our way north. This week 6 of us got it together to dine there after our matinee. Everyone was delighted with the ambiance, service & food. Duck, filet, fish entrees were professionally prepared. Good advice from waitress. Will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Jo_7_7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“French in the heart of the Berkshires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I dined here every summer and it was always a special place to linger over an exceptional meal. Now a widow I went by myself after missing a year and it was as perfect as I remember it. You come here for the comfort of a small family-owned, long-established restaurant with a reputation of the finest in food preparation and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank discerningdiner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb French Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Located in a historical converted and expanded farmhouse, originally built in the early 1920s, the restaurant offers a diverse and creative menu as well as an extensive wine list. Service was friendly and attentive and the food was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill on the Floss also viewed

 
Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to The Mill on the Floss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing