We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I stayed two night with my mom in the Junior Suite. She had the king sized bed, and had one of her best nights of sleep in weeks. The shutters close out the light completely on the first level, and the bed was comfortable and appointed with clean and luxurious linens. I had one of the twin beds up the spiral staircase. The bathroom has a stand-up shower only, no tub. But the shower delivered plenty of water and was spacious. It would be tricky to carry luggage up the spiral staircase, but I don't know why you would. I placed mine downstairs on the luggage rack provided. The housekeeping staff respected our "Do Not Disturb" sign and did not service our room, placing a bag of clean linens and toiletries on our door instead (I cannot tell you how nice that was!). The front desk staff of Christopher and Jen are a great asset to this place. Christopher gave us a great dinner recommendation (Mission Oak Grill). Jen was friendly and a lovely hostess during afternoon tea. Tea is served in the lobby, and you can sit in the wingback chairs enjoying a summer breeze from the open windows. There are cookies and chocolates, and a selection of four bagged but loose leaf teas to make for yourself using a carafe of hot water. Breakfast comes with the room, and on the weekdays is cooked and served by the owner. With years of experience in catering, this is a lovely treat. He tells you that there is a menu, but he's happy to stray from it. When I ordered the Benedict with no muffin, I got two egg/meat combos instead of one. The coffee is plentiful and consumed in an assortment of mismatched English China, the saucers of which are decorating the walls. The breakfast room is decorated similar to the lobby, with large upholstered wingback chairs and plenty of natural light from the many windows. The building is well-maintained for its age, and the rooms are quiet. The decorator cleverly chose to paint the whole place a strong beige, thus uniting the many small and interestingly shaped spaces. This sets off the brick walls and exposed beams in the upper rooms very nicely. The other accents are mostly black, which gives a very elegant and classy feeling to the rooms. This hotel is not trying to be modern, but neither is it Ye Olde Colonial Inn (nor should it be, it dates to after that period). The location is marvelous, within walking distance of the very fun downtown that has shops and restaurants and pubs galore. If you are looking for a place to stay in this part of the state, do your research and check out the Garrison. It truly delivers a great boutique experience. If I return to the area, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms have spiral staircases that may not be accessible to all patrons!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aviatrix2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

The Garrison Inn had everything we require for a perfect stay. The room was large and perfectly quiet. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the a/c worked very well which was important as it was late August. The staff was friendly, courteous and went out of their way to make our visit a good one. We loved ordering our breakfast in the morning and the cook Stu was very amenable to making what you wanted and didn't make you stick to the menu. A special mention to Rick at the front desk who showed us great hospitality. This hotel was within walking distance of everything to see and do in Newburyport. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces Brown Square for a good view and lots of light.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were looking for a fun, upscale hotel in Newburyport, MA so we could get away for a couple of nights for our anniversary. We had not visited the town in 15 years and thought it would be a nice, nearby getaway. After an extensive Internet search, we chose the Garrison Inn. What an enjoyable surprise! The hotel is nicely decorated and located in a very quiet (and safe) neighborhood just a couple of blocks from the main historic area where the shopping and restaurants are located. Our room was the "New Yorker", a spacious, nicely decorated room with a fireplace and lots of natural light. The bath was modern, had a great shower head and nicely appointed. It was ready upon check-in though we were a bit early. The included hot breakfast is not to be missed! The chef says the menu is "only a starting place" and was very happy to make whatever we wanted. It was filling and delicious both days.

Parking was free and off-street, the staff was very friendly and helpful and our stay was very enjoyable! Our only suggestion is they may wish to add a 2nd comfortable chair so a couple can each have a great place to read. We will definitely make this our hotel the next time we visit Newburyport!




We walked everywhere including the waterfront, parks etc. the

Room Tip: The New Yorker is a quiet corner room with lots of natural light and a fireplace.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EastendDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We enjoyed our excellent stay. The room was large, clean and attractive. Bathroom clean and
modern. Staff very attentive. The complimentary breakfast was a pleasant bonus. Located
near everything. Wouldn't change a thing. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this on Expedia two days before arrival at an amazing rate. We stayed in the Paris apartment which is more suited to a romantic trip than a Mum and daughter overnight stay! The decor is not particularly to my taste as I am more boutique than traditional but everything was certainly placed with thought and the feel was historical. Breakfast was fine, a good choice but surprisingly small portions for America and my poached egg was hard. Service was optimal with all staff we encountered being friendly and helpful. Not sure the rooms are worth the rack rate but for what we paid we had exceptional value. We loved Newburyport too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nickihof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Garrison is a quaint and beautiful boutique Inn situated in a perfect location in Newburyport. The service as well as hospitality at the hotel is warm and inviting. Rick at the front desk is friendly and helpful. Also, the breakfast offered in the morning is delicious cooked by the chef is delicious as is the tea served in the afternoon. The Paradiso Spa was fantastic for various treatments at the Inn. The Loft room we stayed in at the Inn is spacious and boutique cute! This hotel is a great place to stay in Newburyport for its location, services, hospitality/rooms, amenities, and overall charm. We can't wait to return to the Garrison Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capri1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were not disappointed with our stay. This hotel is well managed, clean and offers a lot that large hotels cannot. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and clean. The bathrooms need updating as does the mattress that we had which was bouncy and not supportive enough. Our room had some strange plastic (pleather) headboard with cheap lacquered end tables with matching dresser and makeup table. The room decor is blah. This could be five stars with just a little bit of work. The cooked to order breakfast is excellent along with the gentleman that cooks and serves it. You should be happy staying here.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheWiseOldOwl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.2 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
369 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
131 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
18 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
18.6 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel

Address: 11 Brown Sq, Newburyport, MA 01950-2513
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newburyport
Price Range: £138 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Newburyport the historical GARRISON INN Boutique Hotel stands as an icon of modern glamour and timeless elegance, providing an exceptional experience for discerning travelers. As a true luxury boutique hotel, we provide unparalleled amenities and distinguished personal services with a highly focused attention to detail. Set in the heart of Newburyport's historic city center, we are an established, downtown Landmark Hotel known around the world for our rich historic character, impeccable service, and urban sophistication. Come discover the many special touches that set us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Boutique
Garrison Inn Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing