We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loretta - MOVED

Loretta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: new
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have lived in Newburyport for nearly 2 years and have visited Loretta many times. The food is always good … I have had their steak frites several times, while my wife savors their plate of ribs and we always been totally satisfied.The owner, Ted, personally greets all his patrons - Loretta was his mother. You will not be disappointed with any of the offerings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccninports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    79
    34
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“2nd visit as good as the 1st.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We drove back to this quaint cafe yesterday and were just as pleased as we were last year! Food great and service exemplary! We will be back when we are in the area!

Helpful?
Thank texas423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Have been eating at Loretta's since it opened. The food is always good. Usually try the specials but the standard menu always has many options. The staff makes you feel like a "regular" whether it's your first meal there or your thirtieth. One of Newburyport's gems!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The food and service were excellant. disappointed there was no cappuccino. Small place but tables were not squeezed on top of each other, able to enjoy dinner conversation, were not over powered by surrounding noise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice sandwiches and salads, but not special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The reviews for this restaurant made me expect that it would be something exceptional. In fact, there are other places nearby that would qualify for that adjective, but not Loretta. Good sandwiches--my pulled pork with barbecue sauce was very tender and flavorful, but the salads seemed rather pedestrian and the soups just average.

We did not stay for dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loretta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing