We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot in Downtown Newburyport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loretta - MOVED

Loretta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: new
N.H.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Downtown Newburyport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

After reading reviews here we decided to try Loretta. Great little spot right in the heart of town, brick walls, nice little bar area. We ordered the (delicious) ribs and a cheddar burger to share. Nice! Great sweet potato fries too. The owner greeted us and after our meal walked us out. Will come back for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    79
    34
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
andover, ma
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Gem! Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have visited Loretta many times, and it never disappoints. It is a small, cozy restaurant, serving great food with terrific service, located in the heart of downtown Newburyport -- in the midst of the local shops and a short walk to the waterfront. With both indoor and a small outdoor seating area, it has always been very busy when we have visited the restaurant. But the staff are masters at accommodating large parties, who have made reservations, and seating walk-in customers with no or almost no wait. The food is delicious, with a wide variety of choices. A homemade soup is always on the menu, which we enjoy very much, as well as a special "Loretta" salad. Overall, the food is delicious and the value for the food is very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barharborvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“Mixed bag.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We started with crab cakes which were excellent. Not the usual mayonnaise based cake, more of a butter flavor. They did a great job on this. I then had the steak frites. The frites were essentially a garnish and the meat came with roasted potatoes. The roasted potatoes were OK but I was expecting frites. The steak itself was tough a flavorless. The demiglase had no seasoning at all. This really needed something to kick it up a notch. My wife had the shrimp scampi which had no lemon or garlic in it. Essentially, pasta and shrimp in olive oil without any discernible seasoning. Really boring. For desert we had the banana bread pudding which was awesome. I'll try to make this at home and it's great turn on a classic desert.

I'm a wine lover and the wine list had nothing on it that I'd order, especially at those prices. They only had 3 beers on tap. Apparently this is where you only go to drink mixed drinks.

The service was very slow to start. The place was half empty at 6pm on Saturday and it took them 10 minutes to bring us a glass of water and another 10 to bring us our drinks. It got better from there but there was definitely some lack of attention up front.

I was surprised to see that the patrons were mostly older. 40's, 50's and 60's. Nothing wrong with that, we're in our 50's, but this seems to present itself as a young, hip place and that's not what it is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sysprog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

i walked in without knowing anything about loretta's and came away having had a really great experience. i ate the grilled salmon with some sort of an asia-inspired glaze (the name of which i cannot recall now) on top of the house salad. it was delicious.
the staff was attentive and accommodating. i wanted the salmon meal but not all of the carb-heavy sides and the waitress offered to add the salmon as a topping for the house salad. no extra charges.
i would like to go back and see what else loretta's has to offer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenchan000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and cocktails - but not managed well.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My friends and (party of 8) went here to celebrate a special occasion. Hearing that it was a popular place, we made a reservation for 8pm over a month in advance, but when we arrived, the server said they had forgotten we were coming! They sat us in the (crowded and noisy) bar area to let us have a drink while "got our table ready" and we ended up waiting over an hour to order appetizers. The food, however was above average, especially the crab-cakes, and to make up for the mistake, the owner sent a round of complimentary champagne to the table that arrived with dessert. While that was a nice gesture, most of us were unable to finish those drinks due to the fact that at that point in the evening, most of us had already had two or three drinks each. Probably wouldn't return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loretta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing