We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Pizza!”

Anchor Stone Deck Pizza
Ranked #26 of 98 Restaurants in Newburyport
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Newburyport, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have had their pizza at least 3 times and have really enjoyed each time. We love the veggie and Mexican pizzas, I just wish they delivered to my house so I didn't have to drive to Newburyport during the busy summer season. We are about 1/2 mile beyond their limit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great NY style gourmet pizza. Slices are large reasonable but a full pie is pricey. Friendly staff. I have been there many times and it is always good. Has only a few tables inside and outside. Also serves beer and wine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoorayvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Delicious thin crust pizza”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stopped in for pizza after a winter stroll in downtown Newburyport. The staff at the counter was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were amazed by the wide variety of pizza. There really was something for everyone! I chose the Pizza Hawaii with pineapple and Canadian bacon which was outstanding. My husband had the Sandy Point Pesto with black olives, feta cheese, tomatoes and garlic. He loved it! They also offer a nice variety of soft drinks including Orangina and Italian sparkling water, not just your usual Coke.The restaurant is casual with a somewhat nondescript atmosphere, otherwise I would give it 5 stars based on food and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pizza and huge slices.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

On a recent trip here we had the daily special pizza. After we ordered we were thinking the price was kind of for a couple of slices ,two salads and one water. But the price was very fair as the slices are huge, the salad big and all very fresh. Next trip to our old home town we will try whatever the special of the day is again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Now its Anchor Stone Deck Pizza”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Now serving Gluten Free, which is great. Otherwise, a number of issues.

Thin crust only, which is tasty but just can't compare to REAL pizza. They try hard and use only fresh ingredients, but it still tastes like an appetizer.

Chicken wings, like everywhere outside of Buffalo, are inedible. Undercooked and slimy. Evidently, every restaurant owner who has never had a real Buffalo wing, in Buffalo, buys a book and they always get this simplest of fried treats wrong, wrong, wrong.

Everywhere but Western NY serves up undercooked, slimy chicken wings. About once a year, I hope against hope that Somewhere will get it right. In 30 years of looking, I have a 100% fail rate.

Will be back in the 'ol home town this weekend, where Everywhere they get it right!

But I digress... Besides the horrific wings (I could only stomach one), they do a nice thin crust pizza for the highest price you will EVER pay for a pizza. With that, you get a plastic knife that cannot cut the crust, So, just to annoy the customers, you serve up a hot-from-the-oven pizza they can't eat because its too hot to eat without silverware, and you won't provide silverware.

2nd floor seating area is a nice idea, but ugly & dirty with salvation army furniture.

Message to the owners... Seriously? If you tried this mix of pizza, pricing and ambiance in an area that has quality pizza, you'd be out of business. That you've enjoyed success says more about the low quality of your competition in Newburyport than it does about anything you're doing right. Great employees, though. Very friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anchor Stone Deck Pizza also viewed

Newburyport, MA
 

Been to Anchor Stone Deck Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing