We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Joppa Flats Education Center and Wildlife Sanctuary
Newburyport, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plum Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a spot that should not be missed Plum Island is a beautiful barrier island with many birds, dear and just plain wonderous beaches to be explored. There are guided tours or explore on your own.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greatoldtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
204 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Im not a birdie and certainly would not spend a whole day lugging around a huge camera to capture a bird looking dumbfounded nor would I go tromping through the swamps but being inside the new center listening to lectures about the place I visit so many times a year is worth the visit. I would go back, sometime this year again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank critic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you like walking on a beach this is the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

They can run out of parking spaces and if they do they close the gate and you may have to leave for a while.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irwin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for families.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful spot on the Merrimack River. Great educational place - fun for kids and parents! Check out their calendar to see events held weekly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“staff not very friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I live locally and decided to stop in one day with a 6yr old boy that I was watching for the day. The touch and feel tank was not open and when we asked the very bored looking, just sitting there reading a book why it was closed she said, I don't feel like doing it today. Hmm, isn't that your job? The rest of the center is interesting and it has a cute gift shop,but, I almost had to beg the women to let us buy something. I do not know if she is a paid employee or a volunteer but either way she really wrecked what could have been a fun experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marybeth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joppa Flats Education Center and Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Joppa Flats Education Center and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing