We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lexie's on State

Lexie's on State
Ranked #17 of 97 Restaurants in Newburyport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had heard of Lexie's from local residents, and were pleasantly surprised in a recent visit. This is not your average "burger joint." Veggie and fish options are offered, but we chose the beef burgers. The burgers are not large (you can order a double), but that's okay since it leaves room for the delicious fries as a side order (get the rocket sauce; exceptional). They also serve beer. Lexie's is sophisticated enough for the grown-ups, and fun enough for the younger set.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bugsyseagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't beat Lexie's for burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Portions not too big, but also affordable. And they serve BEER, unlike the last few establishments in this location. My only gripe on the beer is it's not as local as it could be (NH beer. I know their original location is Portsmouth so partly makes sense). With Newburyport having 2 local breweries, wish they would serve one variety from here (it's better than the Portsmouth brew anyway...).
Get the burger with the bbq short ribs on top. Amazing. Bistro fries are awesome too. Only other minor complaint is in the winter time, it's so busy that the constantly opening front door keeps half the place too cold for sit down dinners without wearing layers to compensate. Should get one of those flexible 'shower curtain' plastic doorways outside to keep cold out some more.
All in all, this could be a weekly spot for us year round.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Snooty service...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Went here tonight for our daughter's third birthday (yes, it's that kind of place). The burgers and fries were good but the service left a lot to be desired. Look, I don't care if you don't like kids. But when you're serving them (you know, doing your job) a little kindness goes a long way. Our server literally gave our daughter a dirty look, like she was so appallingly annoyed by her. Really? Fake it lady. It would have earned you a better tip and a much better review.

Helpful?
2 Thank VBMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We fell in love with Lexi's in Portsmouth and we were very excited to hear there was one closer to us in Nbpt! Smaller menu than Portsmouth but it is still superb! The staff was very kind and accommodating even though we got there near closing time. Great selection of beers! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Speaking of burgers...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I just finished reviewing Bobby's Burger Palace and was reminded that I don't have to drive 35 miles for a great burger. Lexie's is as good as BBP. And once again, the surprise was in the fries. The truffle fries were unbelievable. Burgers were a little small but so wasn't the price. Great value. Lexie's for a burger then The Screening Room for a movie I'm all in for about 25 bucks for two people. Tough to beat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NormanandCecile F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lexie's on State also viewed

 
Newburyport, MA
Newburyport, MA
 

Been to Lexie's on State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing