We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and a good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Cow Tap & Grill

Black Cow Tap & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Cow Tap & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 97 Restaurants in Newburyport
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice food and a good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have been here several times over the past 6 months. Our purpose is to catch up so as a result, we often spend 2-3 hours and are not in a hurry.

Food varies - most of it is very overpriced and not that great. A few exceptions - their calamari appetizer is plentiful, of good quality and is served with tomatoes, mixed greens, banana peppers and a savory sauce. Their salads are good and you can add protein. Desserts are hit or miss. I had their fish and chips on a previous visit and was not impressed. Wine selection is good.

Service also varies - sometimes they haunt us for food orders and then neglect us when wine glasses are empty. And sometimes it is exceptional. This past visit, the waitress forgot a wine order and brought the wrong dessert.

The view is lovely with plenty of outside seating. We often make reservations and ask for a specific table which is always saved for us. Inside can get loud. There is some parking that fills up, but most of the lot beside the restaurant is pay until 6pm.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fuzzy_171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    177
    72
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Lite Lunch, wonderful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The clam chowder was nice and thick, the way Iike it. My wife had a walnut salad it was plentiful and delicious. The waitress was very sweet and the outside seating was lovely. The view was wonderful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnold07014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casual Lunch Overlooking Marina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This setting and scenery are very nice on a hot summer day! Service was timely and friendly. The lunch menu offered a good variety of seafood and turf choices. Parking is nearby and inexpensive. You can stroll along the boardwalk park along the river and then through the town with quaint shops.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NH G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Large Group dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Menu was set with several choices, very good, look forward to coming back and ordering ala carte. The service was good considering the size of our three tables and everyone is very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Restaurant Experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I made reservations here and were looking forward to our outing very much. I was immediately disappointed with the menu selections. Not much for a vegetarian to eat. Basically have 2 options (salad or ratatouille). Only one appetizer was vegetarian... That's not a big deal being that it is the Black Cow and it's a steak house really.. but some vegetarians who are accompanying people who eat steak. We were there for about a half hour before drinks were offered... after we asked. We threw in a bunch of appetizers at the time as well. Didn't take more than 20 minutes to get our appetizers. However no one checked on us after. We were ready and waiting to order for literally an hour. It was so unacceptable. We were ignored so many times. I asked for bottled water because I didn't like the tap water... they just brought me tap water in a different glass. I finally asked to put our order in.. we got our food.. my salad was bland and wilted! I was appalled. No one else was exactly satisfied either. Needless to say. We will not be returning. Waste of a few hundred dollars and 3+ hours!

Helpful?
1 Thank ThessalonikiMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cow Tap & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Black Cow Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing