We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Suite”
Review of Compass Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Newburyport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have stayed twice at the Compass Rose. Once in April and once in November. It is on a quiet street a short walk to the center of Newburyport. It’s new construction with an antique feel. It has three floors and five spacious suites (suites, not rooms). We stayed in Suite 3 and Suite 4. The suites were almost identical, except 3 is on the second floor and 4 on the third. We preferred Suite 4 as there was no noise from anyone above (it is on the top floor). The suites are spacious, decorated with maritime and colonial reproductions, and include a sitting area and fireplace. Big bathroom, useful mini-fridge and area to open a bottle of wine or store snacks. Breakfast is casual despite the elegant setting with all the guests sharing a long table. All in all, a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: We preferred Suite 4 as there was no noise from anyone above (it is on the top floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just stayed at the Inn for our 25th wedding anniversary. We loved being able to walk to all of the shops and restaurants in town, and on a rainy,cool day we were thankful for the fireplaces and complimentary fire logs. Breakfasts were simple but tasty and coffee/tea was always available. Highly recommend this Inn.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank dretl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Compass Rose is a very charming, comfortable B&B. Gloria is a consummate innkeeper. She makes a real effort to engage with her guests, she is efficient and personable. The breakfasts were well-prepared and our room was comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingfamily2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I had a second wonderful stay at the Compass Rose in this past week. We were there to celebrate and help with the birth of our second grandchild and staying at the Compass Rose made it such a fabulous time. We wake up in the most comfortable bed after a very quiet night sleep - light a fire in the fireplace in our room and then go down to the delicious breakfast spread that Gloria has. We always meet the most interesting people when we stay here - this time it was the author of a wonderful book Oh La la! So much fun and we will be back! We went to Ten Center for a light dinner one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We also ate at Loretta's - a recommendation from Gloria and were not disappointed, the fresh fish was delicious.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 - it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sienalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I had an exceptional stay at the Compass Rose. It was a perfect spot to getaway, reconnect and explore all Newburyport has to offer. The room was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. We also had a lovely time chatting with Gloria and getting great recommendations around town! She is truly an amazing Innkeeper. We will absolutely return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerkleeBear314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location, service, and beauty of the Compass Rose is amazing! My husband and I stayed here for a getaway in suite 4 with a lovely water/town view. The hospitality was perfect and we loved having cocktails in the upstairs cupola. We will undoubtedly be back!!

Room Tip: Suite 4 has fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly61308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I scoured options in New England for a week's gathering for a family of six from Alabama and California. Since most had not experienced anything like the area north of Boston near the shore and in October, I arranged for us to stay at the Compass Rose Inn in Newburyport because my wife and I like B&Bs. I remember driving through Newburyport many years ago and telling myself I need to get back here. Well, the town was better than I remembered, the weather was perfect, the color was nearing its peak but the BEST surprise, loved by all, was the Compass Rose Inn and the innkeeper, Gloria. What a delight. The rooms/suites were clean and spacious with grand architectural mouldings; the beds were comfy; the breakfasts were delicious; the service was excellent and the conversations were fun and memorable. Gloria recommended several restaurants that were within a short walk from the inn and she nailed them. We stayed for four nights and then I dragged the family to Sandwich, MA to give tham a flavor of the cape and area south of Boston. We had a great time in Newburyport with lots of laughs catching up but I think the highlight of the trip (by all) was the time we spent in and around the inn. We have been to many B&B's around the country and this one now ranks #1 to us. A great memory!

Room Tip: All three rooms had the same layout and were similarly appointed. One suite is on the ground floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.3 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
375 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
19.4 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
16.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Rose Inn

Address: 5 1/2 Center St, Newburyport, MA 01950-2722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newburyport
Price Range: £167 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Compass Rose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown Newburyport, you'll find a hidden treasure called Compass Rose. This sophisticated all-suite Inn offers you the opportunity to relax and experience the character and historic charm of a picturesque New England town. Compass Rose is a newly constructed Federal style mansion incorporating period ambiance with state of the art comfort and safety. Our spacious accommodations include five elegant three-room suites; each with a fire placed sitting room, bedroom with king sized bed and a luxurious private bath and a dressing alcove. We offer a convenient first floor suite for our visitors who prefer not to use stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Compass Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Rose Hotel Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing