We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Beachway Motel(Salisbury)
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Amesbury(Amesbury)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue - Inn on the Beach(Plum Island)(Great Value!)
US$284
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
209
105
53
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
105
53
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastthe main streetgreat locationgas fireplacejacuzzi tubbridal suitestandard roombagelskeurig machinerestaurants and shopsrewards programoff street parkingin townrooms are clean and comfortablefull kitchenpark your carair conditioner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were so surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay at this inn. We really just wanted a room for one night while we enjoyed the tone an marina restaurants of
Newburyport and ended up in the cutest loft in an Inn that had everything. It is right in the middle of shops and restaurants so you can just park the car and walk to everything. The rate was reasonable even though it was prime season and the complimentary continental breakfast made it a great value we were not expecting . Very clean rooms and cute as a button if you don't mind stairs rooms on top floors are less expensive as there is no elevator and have to carry your own luggage .we will definitely be back to the Essex Street Inn

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors less expensive but have to carry own luggage upstairs
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed this past weekend (late August) and feel that we've found a "new favorite"! Perfect location with plenty of dining options, history and shopping. The Inn is exactly what we like - clean, comfortable and friendly. The staff was very welcoming allowing us to park in the lot a few hours prior to check in time and offered early check in as the room was almost ready when we arrived. Having a Keurig in the room was a big bonus for us - neither one of us like to leave the room to get morning coffee. The continental breakfast is a great start to the day, with more substantial fare right in town(literally 1/4 block away!). We will definitely return again - it was a pleasure to stay in a historic building that has been modernized with conveniences. The small complaints others state in reviews (small, not much bathroom space) are part of the historic nature that we love in a hotel. Thank you to the kind staff that made our stay a pleasure.

Room Tip: A great pace to use as home base - not a destination in itself (no pool, jacuzzi, bar on site) 2nd floor rooms may obviously be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have to say I'm getting allot of bad advice from trip advisor lately, I mean really the last review said an "oasis out of the ordinary" this place is not an oasis! To start with the toilet seat was so loose I thought I was going to fall off everytime I sat down! The room needed updating, and the breakfast wasn't really breakfast but a continental ! Muffins and stuff, the location couldn't be better your right in the heart of town! I'm still baffled as to why someone would call it an oasis I guess they don't travel often and don't know better! Cathy was very nice and helpful !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Drewlou102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The brochure calls the Essex Street Inn "an oasis from the ordinary". Turns out to be exactly correct. First priority, cleanliness. Excellent! Second, breakfast. A continental breakfast with muffins, fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc. All very nicely presented to be enjoyed in their bright and comfy breakfast area. The rooms' ambiance is really nice, giving one a sense of not being in a standard chain hotel, but in a place that exudes its own interesting sense of Newburyport history. The Inn is a block from the downtown which is filled with restaurants and other shops that celebrate New England's and Newburyport's heritage.

A special shout out to Kathy Ross who did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one.

We usually visit family in Newburyport each year and have always stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in Seabrook. It's nice too, but being right in the heart of Newburyport makes the visit there so much more enjoyable. Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location in downtown Newburyport. A bit pricey, but good alternative. Rooms need a little sprucing up. The breakfast was quite satisfying with a good selection of yummy things to eat. Very nice staff. I would definitely recommend this very historic and beautiful Inn.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Heyjoenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews