We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally sampled the wonderful fish tacos”
Review of Metzy's Taqueria

Metzy's Taqueria
Ranked #16 of 96 Restaurants in Newburyport
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
N. Reading, MA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Finally sampled the wonderful fish tacos”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have been trying for a while to get up to the airport at Plum Island to try the fish tacos . Got there yesterday and the truck had broken down :-((

However , the truck was fixed today and was in downtown Newburyport for the first day of Yankee Homecoming . Had 2 of the fish tacos. They are delicious . I will definitely be a return visitor

Fresh , reasonable price, and yummy flavor

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmann7643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Metzy's is AMAZING”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I'm a fan of tacos and burritos and have always been disappointed that there wasn't a quick taqueria in town...then I found Metzy's.When in the mood for a quick tacos or burritos, I used to head over to Dos Amigos, in Portsmouth, or Las Olas (in N. Hampton)...in my opinion Metzy's is the tastiest. Metzy's is a food truck typically located on the Plum Island Airfield (or at least in the warmer months). You can find out where the truck is for the day by checking their facebook page. My only possible complaint is that they close early most days so I can never have Metzy's for dinner...but being a food truck I assume they wouldn't get much evening business.

Now onto the food, everything I've had is incredibly delicious! They offer tacos and burritos which your choice of filling: pork, chicken, steak, bean, sweet potato, and fish. I've had the pork, chicken, and steak in both tacos and burritos and it certainly doesn't disappoint. They use a chipotle sauce that adds a nice kick. Also there was chopped mango on my chicken taco, which was a pleasant surprise. The chips with salsa and guacamole are a cheap add on and are also rather delicious. Go to Metzy's, you will love it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food; fun, too.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We been several times and have tried now all the tacos. They are all so good I really can't choose a favorite so we'll just have to keep going back. Steak, shrimp and fish are the top three, however. the food is consistently good and it's just plain fun to hang out with the crowd that gathers. Food this good doesn't come in seconds. So relax, enjoy watching the kids play and get ready for a good meal. Next time I'm going for the burrito!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MHS7560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fun Foodie Experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This food truck is fun, and the tacos and burritos are definitely a foodie version with fresh, upscale toppings. You have to track online where the truck will be each day, and there is always a line, great place to catch up with people. Stuffed with grilled steak, or pulled chicken/pork or jumbo shrimp and there is a vegetarian version. Much better than the local Mexican restaurant. Only drawback is the wait for food and it is room temp by the time you get it home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtLovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Tacos and Burritos north of Boston”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've had some great tacos in other parts of the country, but this is the first time in the Boston area that I have had really, really tasty and creative tacos. The ingredients are fresh, as are all the sauces and condiments.

The fish tacos were excellent, as were the black bean and sweet potato tacos. My chicken buritto was super tasty and very filling. Metzy's offers a wide selection of Jarritos Mexican sodas, bottled waters and juices for the kids.

They also have a kids menu, too.

Eric Metzdorf, the owner, is super friendly and goes out of his way to make everybody feel appreciated and at home.

If you are heading out to Plum Island, stop by the airport and grab a taco. Metzy's is there Thursday thru Sunday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 278JamesS278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metzy's Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Metzy's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing