We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you get here early!”

Michael's Harborside
Ranked #10 of 97 Restaurants in Newburyport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good if you get here early!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've been here twice in the past 3 weeks. The first time our group was too big (7) to get a spot on the deck even though it was 3:30 on a Saturday & we saw 2 huge empty tables. We tried to call earlier in the week for a reservation but was told they were too booked to make one. Oh well.

Went again last night & got a table upstairs on the deck. Food was good & wait staff was fine both times. The only annoying thing was when we were done with dinner and just hanging out we had other customers hovering over us waiting for our table. I know that everyone wants to sit, but they were almost on top of us, staring & waiting for us to pay our check. We were barely there for an hour. Too bad customers can't wait in another area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeaMotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    170
    92
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best place for family lunch!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife n I always pick this place for a great lunch with my mom. Food is perfect as well as the views.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ted12600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice harbor views, some unique foods, but average”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We ended up here for dinner on our first night in Newburyport. We sat at a high top at the bar which probably turned out providing us with the best service. Our server was very attentive for a busy night, all while managing the bar as well.

We started with the pretzels - highly recommend them! We had small salads as well and then entrees. We both ordered off the specials menu and our meals were quite good.

We returned the next day for lunch to meet up with friends/family who had selected the location. We were far less impressed with lunch than dinner. The service was slow and drawn out. The chowder was good, but heavy on the potato. We both ordered the fish tacos as one of our dining companions said they were the best they've had. We were less than impressed with them. the fish was over fried and chewy and there was that and a few pieces of tomato in the tortilla and that's it. We've certainly had far better.

The food was good, service varied, they did have a great beer selection with some local brews which were great to try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curly_Girly_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best seafood, best view of harbor”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Michael's harbor side is our go-to restaurant every time we visit Newburyport. Over the years the kitchen manages to keep pace with increasingly sophisticated tastes while maintaining its high standards in traditional dishes like fried clam baskets and fish and chips. In summer, plan on long waits, but michaels special Bloody Mary will make it all worth while. This establishment never disappoints.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ET88BaskingRidge_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LindaG”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good traditional seafood On the water with a nice view. The service was good and the prices reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Harborside also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Harborside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing