We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chili”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Purple Onion Cafe

Purple Onion Cafe
Ranked #21 of 95 Restaurants in Newburyport
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Chili”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I go here for the chili. It is seasonal but it is the best in the area! Served with nacho chips. Yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gottogotomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Love the food because its made on the spot but they are always running out and the hours are limited.Sometimes they are closed when they are suppose to be open. Do try the quiche of the day with tomato soup

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goanywhere28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Purple Onion looked like a hippie health food place. Quiche was average, and the salad had WAY too much dressing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

All food is made to order. They have healthy selections for all. A very casual place to grab a quick wholsome meal.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were heading for an afternoon in Newburyport today so I checked Tripadvisor for a decent sandwich shop. The shop did have great reviews yet it was nothing spectacular today. I had a steakhouse burrito wheat wrap and the flank steak was tasty, although I wasn't thrilled with the blue cheese on it. My husband got a smoked turkey breast wrap with cholula (which was suppose to be spicy). His sandwich was bland and not spicy at all. It was a quick place to grab a bite to eat but I wouldn't rush back. Maybe the soups on a cold day may be a better choice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank linhebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Onion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Purple Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing