We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot for soups and sandwiches”
Review of Purple Onion Cafe

Purple Onion Cafe
Ranked #29 of 99 Restaurants in Newburyport
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
714 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot for soups and sandwiches”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a great lunch spot for fresh, tasty soups and sandwiches. When we asked at a shop where to have lunch, the owner and a local customer immediately said, "Purple Onion!" They gave us a very good tip.

We had cups of their special homemade soups of the day and split a wrap -- very good and tasty. Well-priced for the high quality. A variety of bottled beverages are in the case. I assume that he coffee is good - the place seems focused on high quality.

There are indoor and outdoor tables, which are lovely on a nice day. The street area is across from a park and children's playground -- little traffic noise.

Only picky complaint: the service is good, but confusing. You order at the counter, and there is more detailed description of the specials taped to the counter. Some customers said they would bring the order to you, but it seems that you need to get it yourself when they are busy.

So: we'd definitely go back if we were in the area again. Get away from the touristy marketplace area and have a great lunch here, a short walk away and far from the madding crowds.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great menu, lots of options....outside seating available for nice days. Prices are good. I get the eggplant chili, which is delicious! I also get the veggie quesadillas that are great too! This our one of our go-to places whenever we want a quick, easy, great lunch spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stopped by the purple onion for the first time. Had a lot of really good soup and sandwich options. Was really fast, easy, and delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersworth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have the soup!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The perfect place for a light lunch -- served fresh and piping hot. The sweet and sour tomato soup is DELICIOUS.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty little lunch spot”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A friend and I wanted to try something different for lunch. When we go to Newburyport, we typically go to the same places. We spotted this tiny shop, and we both ordered wraps. We walked inside, the counter in front of us. Actually, there was a a few people standing there not knowing what to get, and we had to maneuver around them to grab menus to see what was available. There are chairs and tables outside, but when the weather cools, there are a few places inside to sit at.

They have salads, sandwiches, soups, and apparently serve coffee and ice drinks. My friend got a spring veggie wrap, and I got one with roasted eggplant and portobello mushrooms, lettuce, tomato and cheese. The food was fresh and filling, though my wrap was very messy! I had to eat some of it with a fork and knife, and the bottom of the basket was swimming in a balsamic dressing. The wraps came with multigrain tortilla chips instead of potato chips, which was a nice change.

It's not an award winning spot, but it was quick, simple and tasty. I want to add that many items are vegetarian, and look like they can be easily made vegan if you omit the cheese.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenmboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Onion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Purple Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing