We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice folks, ok food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bocca Bella Cafe & Bistro

Bocca Bella Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #44 of 256 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice folks, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is a nice neighborhood spot with very ok (but not wonderful) food, based on our experience. We had dinner there because we were in the area. It isn't a "fine dining" experience, but prices are much lower and value higher than many fancier places. Service was friendly and prompt. Owners were onsite cooking and bartending. Everything was fresh and well-cooked, but the food tended to be underseasoned and flavors were somewhat muted. Lentil soup was ok, but could have used more lentils, onion, and seasoning. Fish cakes were a little bland by themselves, but were perfectly cooked and delicious with the horseradish sauce and capers. Veal marsala was made with sweet marsala, not dry, so while veal itself was very good quality, the dish was cloyingly sweet. Shrimp scampi was ok, good shrimp, ok pasta, but needed more garlic, salt, and pepper. Portions were good-sized. I'd happily eat there again, and would love to try it for lunch, but I probably wouldn't drive too far to do so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Hidden Italian Cafe&Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Amazing staff that served us a great Italian Lunch. Amazing eggplant dishes and sandwiches.
Highly recommend this hidden gem resturant as a must eat place when visiting Newtown or Boston Mas.

Service was great and prices reasonable. Coming from Canada to visit Boston, this place made our stay enjoyable. Keep up the great work Mario and Anthony!!!! Hope to visit you guys another time. A must stop place to eat when visiting Boston Mas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thechoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Dinner is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Delicioius, delicious, delicious. GREAT place for dinner. Romantic, peaceful atmosphere, great staff, amazing choices, delicious wines....what a find in Auburndale. The restaurant does a dis-service to themselves by not publicizing their dinner menu online, but trust me, you will be extremely happy to discover this place. I'm going back asap... The Globe review really does describe this place perfectly. Delicious food, amazingly reasonable prices. You will love this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This place was recommended by the receptionist at my hotel. I missed it at first but when I stopped at a local wine shop they recommended it as well and helped me find it. The staff was very friendly and the place was clean but nothing fancy! We order the half and half - half of a sandwich with a half salad or soup. ($8.95) The portion was huge and the portobello panini was excellent. A small glass of wine was pricey - $7.00 but good.
I will definitely return the next time I am in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryLouise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find near Newton-Wellesley Hospital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Because we couldn't bear hospital food, we ventured out and happily discovered Bocca Bella where great care is lavished on customers and food preparation. Food is excellent quality and imaginatively prepared; served by kind and caring wait staff. The chef-owner was on site and obviously proud of his culinary achievements. Although the food is fine enough for a special occasion meal and wine is available, ambiance is more casual (think glorified luncheonette). The chef cares enough to cure his own pickles and pastrami and had made a very tasty fish chowder as well as a fine bread pudding on the day we visited. One of our party indicated her burger was the best she's ever had. Although we do not expect to return to the hospital (we were there for the happy arrival of a new grandchild), we would gladly go back for another meal when we return to Boston for a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeifer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bocca Bella Cafe & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bocca Bella Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing