We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Charles River Canoe & Kayak
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Newton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Nahanton Park consists of 57 acres of forests, meadows, and gardens along the Charles River. From our dock, canoeists and kayakers can enjoy more than 12 miles of uninterrupted flatwater, from Silk Mill Dam at Upper Falls to Dedham Ave in Needham. A significant portion of the river's shore along this section of river is parkland, including Cutler Park and Millennium Park, and most of the riverbank is forest and marsh.Our Nahanton Park location, off Nahanton St./Kendrick St. on the Newton/Needham town line, offers hourly canoe and kayak rentals, picnic tables, an indoor function room, and playing fields. Learn more about our Nahanton Park Location in Newton.To best see this outstanding stretch of river, try one of our Shuttled River Trips and spend the morning or the whole day floating down the Charles!
Boston area
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great place - they rent a variety of boats/canoes/kayaks/standup boards and also have instruction, group events (i.e. evening paddles) and a very nice staff. The river is lovely in this area. It's just beyond the Marriott Hotel and easy to find.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyPetRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous family fun”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent a lovely summer day with the kids (10 and 11 yrs old) stand up paddle boarding (first time and they LOVED it!), and we adults more sedately in a canoe. What fun! We paddled downstream to Ware's Cove for a picnic and back.

The rental process was fast and easy. We'll be back... adults want to try SUPs next time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MADKapMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I'm happy to live in walking distance of this place. A huge variety of boats, allowing you to explore a pleasant/tranquil section of the river, at least once you get away from the boathouse and the I-90/128 interchange. Prices could be a little lower, but aren't horrible. And this place participates in cleaning up the Charles which is an admirable "corporate citizen" type of thing to do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a fun break”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It's just a relaxed fun. You'll have to go downstream to avoid the highway noise, and remember to calculate extra time for going back. The price is really fare and it's a beautiful part of the river.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyCat990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an hour or two on a spring, summer, or fall day!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I love the opportunity to get in a kayak so close to home and to tourist destinations. Prices for kid kayaks (up to age 12) are very low and so it makes a great family outing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueFMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charles River Canoe & Kayak also viewed

 

Been to Charles River Canoe & Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing