We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Frills Just Simple A Marriot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boston Marriott Newton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No Frills Just Simple A Marriot”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We chose to stay here because their weekend rate was far better than any other decent hotel in the Boston, Brookline, Cambridge and Newton areas during our stay August 26, 2011 to August 30, 2011. We used to live in Newton which is the suburb where this hotel is and I use to work in Aubundale the part of the city where the hotel is actually situated. I knew the neighborhood and we had a car so getting around was not going to be difficult for us. The hotel has a shuttle and it is an easy ride to the Green Line D train stop at Riverside.

Our 5th floor room was just okay interms of amenities but very clean. We could hear people very clearly when they spoke in the hallways and the next room. However it was not noisy and we slept soundly. You have to pay extra to get a refrigerator in your room.

Room service was easy to order and arrived on time as promised. The food was good not particularly spectacular. The gym is very well equiped and the lobby was nice and clean. The concierge staff were very helpful and even gave us an additional room for a hurricane reduced rate when we needed one due to Tropical Storm Irene's disruption of plans. To us that is good customer service. Another good customer service point they scored is cancelling the charge for our one day internet service due to the connection working for only 2 hours during our 24 hour subscription period. The paid overnight parking fee of $9:00 is just a way to make more money off a captured audience. Due to lack of alternative parking, one has to pay and park. Although for us, it was good to know ahead of time and plan for it accordingly.
There is not much in the immediate area in terms of restaurants or entertainment. There is a Shaws/Star market supermarket about 10minutes walking distance on the main avenue and there is a side walk from across the street all the way to that plaza. Also there is a Bagel place at this plaza and they have a great breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. Another option can get off the D line train at Newton Center, which is right at the heart of Newton and very vibrant with more restaurants and shops than Auburndale has to offer. If you have a car then the possibilities are endless. There is shopping and loads of restaurants at Framingham and Natick just take exit 13 on Interstate90/Masspike west about 6 minutes from the hotel. You can get to Downtown Boston on the D line train as well.

We enjoyed going back to Massachusett and if this hotel offers the best in price and comfort when we visit, we will stay there again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mothergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgr11, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you were able to experience our well equipped gym, room service and helpful concierge staff. We also appreciate you mentioning the hotel shuttle service--a very convenient way to get to downtown Boston.

Our hotel is a great value on the weekends. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    308
    186
    66
    34
See reviews for
222
82
48
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I arrived after midnight. We had stayed here once before to visit family in Newton and loved our room with the view of the river. We requested a king size bed. This time we were put on the 4th floor way down a long long hallway- very narrow and kind of gloomy. Our room was VERY small and had 2 queen beds which made it even smaller. The next day we had the option to move, but too busy with family to be bothered. I asked for the sq. footage of the room, and was told that this was an "older hotel" so all the rooms were small. I asked several times for the sq. footage, but no one seemed to know. The bathroom was so small, there was no way two people could be in it at the same time. Since there was no fan in the bathroom, after taking a shower everything on the countertops was wet! Our view was of an empty parking lot- very disappointing after our previous great view. The bar was nice, we never made it to the restaurant or gym. Starbucks coffee for sale in the lobby. Overall the hotel was clean, convenient and quiet, and the service was good...just don't arrive after midnight because you will get whatever room is left.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for business at least twice and found it very convenient, clean and reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Basic rooms, recently updated but still pretty standard and stuffy. We had a room on the lowest level and was dark and had a damp and mildew smell. This room was supposed to have a view of the little pond, but the only view we had was of the empty concrete space where the pool used to be and the highway... no pond to be seen!

This was a basic hotel - nothing stood out and the room was priced accordingly for this type of stay. Service and food were pretty average as well. This is a fine place for a business or no frills stay, not for a vacation or experience stay. I would recommend the Aloft brand or even better the Indigo (better location even).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islabery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgr11, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Islabery,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our close proximity to Boston. We have plans to renovate the patio behind the hotel. I hope that you return in the future to enjoy the improved design.

Warm regards,

Thomas M. McKenney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights, guest room was on the 6 floor facing parking lot but with no-obstructed clear view and nicely (typical marriott style) decorated guest room, surrounding area and views were impressed. love in room safe box and small refrigerator

Cons:
1)shouldn't charge $9/over night for parking since its not even close to city.
2)services from hotel not impressed.
3)breakfast was okay but spoons, mugs, tables were not clean

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelinsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgr11, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott. I am glad that you enjoyed the refrigerator and safe in your room. They are great amenities. I hope that you stay with us again in the future,

Respectfully,

Thomas M. McKenney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for a night in July while on business. Welcome as a Marriott Platinum member and for once actually offered to choose the points or gift (unlike so many other Marriott's). Upgraded to Concierge Level.

Room was very nice and very clean. Concierge staff on Sunday evening as well as Monday morning were amazing. Unfortunately I forget their names... but the food on both days was excellent. Tuna on Sunday evening was very, very good.

Room service was fast and tasty.

Internet worked very well... again, unlike many other hotels I have been at lately.

Check-out with quick and painless. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgr11, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Platinum Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate the terrific review. We work hard to provide a great guest experience and are pleased that you had an excellent stay. We hope that you return soon.

Sincerely,

Thomas M. McKenney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have stayed at the Newton Marriott many times. We have periodically stayed at hotels right in Boston rather than this one, but always come back. The hotel is right off the Mass Pike and a 15 minute drive to downtown Boston.
We know that the rooms in this hotel will be clean and the front desk will be professional and courteous. There have been a few changes in the past few years that I dislike and the main one is now having to pay for parking. It's still not as much as hotels in downtown Boston, but we always recommended this hotel based on the free parking. I too am not a fan of the retro lobby look. I liked the classic sophistication of the previous lobby, but really that's just a style preference and not a complaint..

Over all I highly recommend this hotel and do so on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Ask for river view as its quite beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maireadsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMgr11, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and can highly recommend the hotel. We appreciate the comments.

Warm regards,

Thomas M. McKenney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
1.4 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Newton

Property: Boston Marriott Newton
Address: 2345 Commonwealth Ave, Newton, MA 02466-1733
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Newton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Boston Marriott Newton, in beautiful Newton, MA. Our Newton, MA hotel's property includes 22 acres of idyllic and scenic riverfront land alongside the Charles River. Guests find our location ideal for exploring Newton and nearby Boston. We are situated close to historic Boston attractions, Boston College, Brandeis University, Bentley College, and Boston's high-tech beltway. Boston Marriott Newton is centrally located on the I-90, near Logan Airport. It is easy to get to our hotel and to get around, once here. We encourage you to visit us and enjoy one of our 430 luxurious hotel rooms - many of our Newton, MA hotel rooms offer gorgeous river views! Our hotel boasts more than 20,000 square feet of flexible event space, which makes us a perfect hotel for conferences and weddings. Come take advantage of our fabulous indoor pool, our expansive fitness center, and our on-site restaurant - Riverbend Bar & Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Newton Hotel Newton
Marriott Newton
Newton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing