We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Careful What You Wish For!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Marriott Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boston Marriott Newton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
United States
Level Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Be Careful What You Wish For!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had requested a room with a river view. We were originally assigned a room on the 5th floor with a nice view and terrible smell of mildew or mold. We were quickly moved to the 6th floor on the river side, room 601 with a view of the roof and slight sign of the river through the tree tops.

The worst part of this room is it backs to the service elevator. All night long the room service and housekeeping staff are using the elevator and the noise is quite annoying. We were only there two nights so we stayed in that room. At least it didn't smell like the first one.

The staff is extremely friendly. However, some odd points. Ordered Eggs Benedict from room service, one egg, on half a muffin came… the first time I have ever seen this! Normally two eggs.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near service elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott. We are glad to hear that you found or staff to be friendly. We will use your comments to improve the service that we provide in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    301
    184
    65
    31
See reviews for
216
81
48
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with the little balcony and river view upon my arrival. Had dinner both nights of my stay and was great (had the salmon and filet). The service was great and rooms very clean. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thanks so much for the great review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your view. Our balcony rooms really are nice during this time of year. We appreciate your positive comments and hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Came into Boston to view some colleges. Ended up using Hotwire to get a great deal on this hotel. We were very pleased with the service. Only downside was there was not a lot of restaurants in the general vicinity.

We had a problem with the remote in the room and they were there in minutes with an explanation of the brief problem that was happening in the hotel.

Hotel was very clean. Beds were very comfortable. All in all it was great for the one night we were there.

Room Tip: You can request riverside.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has green practices - optional to the guest.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fembats1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found your room to be comfortable and clean. We are a great location for visiting colleges. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Good luck with the college search.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for a conference. As a hotel that you would expect to accommodate large conference groups, the restaurant was always ill equipped at lunch for crowds that arrived. Disappointing for a Marriott. Hotel was lovely, check in was quick. My room was on the 3rd floor (one down from the lobby) and the one right next to the elevator. As others have alluded to paper thin walls, I heard the elevator open and close, go up and downs ding, etc - all day and evening. Being right near the conference rooms and also the elevator made it incredibly noisy. Also, due to the flooring in the lobby, you can hear footsteps above you every time someone in heels walks across. Had I been here for any other reason than a work conference I would've asked for a room change as a Rewards member. But no one should have to deal with that amount of noise!
Beautiful facility but still needs some work! I was definitely disappointed even with the conference room rate. Also I wonder when Marriott will join the rest of the world and stop making us pay for Wi-Fi in our rooms.

Room Tip: Not the 3rd floor (under lobby)! Not near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maestra611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Maestra,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by noise. We appreciate your feedback and we will consider your comments as we work to make improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice Marriott hotel. Our room has a view of the Charles River. The common space is nice. Our room is comfortable and clean, with a fridge and coffee maker. The beds are really comfortable. There's outdoor parking ($9). The only negatives are: No bathroom fan and no free internet. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Solomander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Solomander,

Thank you for taking the time to post your about your experience at the Newton Marriott. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be clean and comfortable. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

When I first got to this hotel I was so very happy- it is in a great spot, comfortable beds, nice room, and the man who checked us in (John) was helpful and friendly. But other staff were not as helpful. I had a big problem on the third night of my stay- the individuals in the room next to me were often loud but that night at 3am they engaged in some very loud behaviors. There was moaning, groaning, shouting out and even some slap noise.... It was awful- the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel. I brought the situation to the attention of the staff at the front desk- and the response was "sorry". While I appreciate an apology- myself and my 8 year old son were forced to listen to pornographic noise- my EIGHT year old. It was awful. As I tearfully tried to tactfully explain This to the front desk- "sorry" was the only response. No offer to fix it, no offer for quiter room, no chance to leave early without penalty, they didn't even offer me ear plugs. The lack of sympathy for the horrid situation was astonishing.
In addition to that drama- the marriot "look no further" price guarantee refused to match the price I found saying that it was because I was already staying at the hotel (they require 24 hours notice) the thing is, I was FORCED to check out, then check back in, so the stay I put a claim in on, was not a continuous stay as they claimed- but if they want to say it was, fine, then keep the rate the same for when I checked back in. But they more than doubled the price for my last night there and did not respond to my request for explaination until it was too late to cancel this last night's stay.

Over all I no longer trust this company or their "look no further" guarantee. Which really is a shame because aside from how they handled the noise incident(and housekeepings lack of competence-mold and dirt in shower, all trash not removed, items like ice bag and glasses not replaced) the hotel was beautiful and in the perfect location!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nlam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott. We appreciate your feedback. We are very sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied. We will share your comments with our staff and work to improve how we handle situations in the future.

Marriott's Look No Further Best Rate Guarantee is a great program. This program is handled out of our corporate office. The details can be found on www.marriott.com. Please feel free to call the hotel directly if we can be of assistance. We want you to have a great experience when you stay with us and hope that you continue to choose to stay at Marriott hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Boston Mariott is located next to the Charles River and if you are lucky you will get a room with a view over the river. The room I had was ok , it was clean but dark as it was in the lower parts but over looked the river.
The staff is super friendly and service minded. The breakfast buffet is ok (an omelet station is always appreciated).
The walls are quite thin and I had to listen on a skype call with some exotic voices late one night and could hear my colleague on the phone (I could hear every word) another morning and the wifi is pretty slow plus you have to log on every time you come back.

So overall my stay was ok - but not something to remember for either good or very bad.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the river. And if you are on the top level I guess it will be lighter room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mvanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear MVanting,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott. We are happy to read that you found our staff to be super friendly and our rooms to be clean. We are very sorry that you experienced some problems with the internet. We are in the process of upgrading the internet in the hotel and have just transitioned to a new provider. Along with the change in provider, we are significantly expanding the bandwidth in the hotel. We expect this to be completed by the end of the month. We apologize for any inconvenience during the transition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
1.5 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Newton

Property: Boston Marriott Newton
Address: 2345 Commonwealth Ave, Newton, MA 02466-1733
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Newton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Boston Marriott Newton, in beautiful Newton, MA. Our Newton, MA hotel's property includes 22 acres of idyllic and scenic riverfront land alongside the Charles River. Guests find our location ideal for exploring Newton and nearby Boston. We are situated close to historic Boston attractions, Boston College, Brandeis University, Bentley College, and Boston's high-tech beltway. Boston Marriott Newton is centrally located on the I-90, near Logan Airport. It is easy to get to our hotel and to get around, once here. We encourage you to visit us and enjoy one of our 430 luxurious hotel rooms - many of our Newton, MA hotel rooms offer gorgeous river views! Our hotel boasts more than 20,000 square feet of flexible event space, which makes us a perfect hotel for conferences and weddings. Come take advantage of our fabulous indoor pool, our expansive fitness center, and our on-site restaurant - Riverbend Bar & Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Boston Marriott Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Newton Hotel Newton
Marriott Newton
Newton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing