We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art+music=a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MASS MoCA

MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed on a restored 19th century factory campus, MASS MoCA is the largest center for contemporary visual and performing arts in the country. Open year round with full schedule of live events, changing exhibitions and Sol LeWitt Wall Drawing Retrospective.
Pomfret, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Art+music=a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a remarkable venue in a beautiful area. A defunct mill has been re-purposed into a unique museum experience. They seem to specialize in over-sized installations like you (or at least I've) never seen. They also host a fair amount of music including music festivals. The music events I've attended are the most smoothly run events I've even encountered. "Runs like butter."
The other thing to add is---the location. There are two other high-end museums near-by: The Clark and the Williams College museum, both of which are in Williamstown. And, of course, all of this is situated in the beautiful Berkshires.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    111
    40
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a space!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The space of this museum is magnificent. It houses some truly outstanding large sized contemporary works of art. There was a nice variety of "types" of contemporary exhibits up as well which is great for the visitor that is unsure about how to view current art forms. In addition, there is an inexpensive cafe in the lobby that is great for lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adventuraNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“MASSMoCA is a must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This modern art museum is housed in an old industrial factory that has been refurbished, but still retains some of the original charm of the Arnold Print Works (Think of the cat door draft stoppers). It is not for everyone - some of the exhibits may leave you wondering what is it you are looking at. It is well worth it to go on one of the guided tours where the staff can tell you more about the installations and what the artist had in mind (otherwise you may have no idea!). It has several HUGE areas where there have been installations that would not fit in any other museum.
The special night-time shows are often outstanding. Check a schedule on-line before you go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody-Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

great visit at a beautiful museum - modern art in an old mill complex and there's a great lunch spot - amazing food and ice cream

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beachyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Mass MoCA is a cultural institution. I spend two months in the Berkshires every summer, and the museum is on my must-visit list every year. I like modern art, but am by no means a superfan. That being said, I absolutely love Mass MoCA. Year after year, the rotating exhibits blow my mind. And the permanent ones are like old friends. The Sol Lewitt wall art is my favorite. All of this is against the backdrop of an old industrial complex. It's like visiting another world. Can't wait to go this summer!

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MASS MoCA also viewed

 

Been to MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing