We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
190 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I'm a fan! This is a nice little bed and breakfast type inn with all the amenities. The staff are super friendly and take care of your needs. There is a pool and a jacuzzi and it is conveniently located within walking distance of Mass MOCA and downtown N. Adams. Taking all the pluses into account with the price and location (it's on a major street so you hear loud cars and bikes at all hours of the night), it is a 4 out of 5 type of place. Not bad for an only option in a run down town.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    181
    54
    14
    13
See reviews for
139
300
21
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Am writing this while sitting at the desk of Red House #24. Great find as is the whole town of North Adams.

Being from the San Francisco Bay Area we were impressed with The Porches eclectic retro design and furnishings - it reminded us of another row house inn conversion, Linden Row, in Richmond, Virginia. That too was very well done and beautiful and most everything was original versus Porches where more artistic interpretations have been made, in a clever and imaginative way.

We were also knocked out by the quality of food at Public and Lickety Split, the small cafe within Mass MOCA.

Mass MOCA was one of the highlights of our trip - a jaw dropping assembly of buildings and spaces equalled by the breadth and quality of art. Why it is out here is curious but am glad hordes of tourists aren't milling around if it were in the middle of Boston.

Public was so good we ate there both nights we were in town - the linguine with sausage though pedestrian-sounding was outstanding.

Swam in the Porches pool early in the morning, idyllic doing the backstroke looking up at the fall leaves turning color now in October. Just as good but different than swimming in the rooftop pool at the Fairmont by the harbor in Vancouver or the gigantic salt water pool at the Hotel Alyeska in Girdwood, Alaska. Just wanted to mention these for any lap swimmers out there.

Porches is a definite wow for us, not your typical experience and refreshing to stay in a place that appreciates re-defining the hotel experience. For example, our in-room breakfast was simply left outside our door at the requested time. No need to rush out of the shower or whatever and tip a server - very smart.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank design49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The porches is very quirky , the rooms are amazing , the decor vey different . The beds and bedding very comfortable. . The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful , nothing was too much bother , always a smile. The only negative comment we could make was about the breakfast - very limited choice and the cheese should be presented in a more hygienic way I.e. pre sliced . Otherwise a fantastic place to stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Porches is a great place to relax and well-situated for visiting Mass MOCA across the street and the museums and theater in Williamstown -- a 10-15 minute drive. The design of the inn shows great imagination stringing together former workers' cottages into a variety of room configurations, many with porches. Our superior room on the second floor was generously sized, in perfect condition and comfortably furnished. Nice big bathroom with a window and attractive finishes. Many nice architectural touches throughout the inn and no two rooms decorated the same. The property is very well maintained -- we saw the maintenance crew out during our 2-night stay touching up paint in rooms, etc. The cold breakfast buffet in the dining area was delicious and plentiful -- fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, excellent granola, yogurt. Porches is within walking distance to several good restaurants -- we had a great meal/enjoyable evening at Public Eat + Drink. The outdoor pool and hot tub were nice. There is also an exercise room that we didn't visit.

There is 24-hour staff at the front desk, but without a restaurant or bar on premises Porches is more of a B&B than an inn. The front desk was very service-oriented and happy to make me a cup of tea at night. Look forward to staying at Porches again.

Room Tip: Second floor room with a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitewhale13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a nice weekend of hiking at Mt. Greylock ( 30 minutes drive to the very helpful vistor centers) then visiting Mass MOCA. The Porches Inn is a great location for both. After a day of hiking, the hot tub & sauna were a nice way to relax.
The staff is very accomodating. The breakfast was delicious & plentiful.
We will definetly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMA1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have stayed previously at this edgy,quaint,charming Inn and it is now even better! The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms very comfortable especially the linens and duvet. Delicious breakfast featuring local products and very convenient to Mass MoCA - one of our favorite museums. Sabine is a delight!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have stayed in many hotels, but never one as outstanding as this. The staff here make this charming hotel an unforgettable experience. We loved it so much, we changed our travel plans to stay an extra night, a first for us.

They firstly arranged a gluten free breakfast for me (I have Celiac Disease). Breakfast is included, but they made sure to have GF bread, muffins and cereal, complete with soy milk. They have fun games in the living room, where we enjoyed a game of Jenga. The pool and hot tub is heated year round and open 24 hours; we were able to enjoy the hot tub at midnight in 40 degrees! There is a fire pit which the staff will set up for you, and supply sticks with marshmallows and hersheys and graham crackers. Drinks are at reception with hot apple cider in the evenings. Turn down service leaves homemade mints on the pillow, and there is even a walking tour of the hotel if you are interested in the history of the hotel.

The room was quiet, charming and comfortable. King bed, huge spacious bathroom, and all modern appliances. The gym is brand new and we were able to get a great workout in. The staff were all fabulous, in particular Gina, whose sunny personality won us over to stay the second night.

Loved it, by far the best hotel in the area to stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the Blue House, not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
22.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Property: The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams
The Porches Inn At MASS MoCA North Adams, MA - Berkshires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing