We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Vintage, So comfy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I wish there were more places like this. We stayed here a night for a show at Tanglewood. The room was clean and had so much character with the way it's painted to the window curtains to the plates on the walls. The bathroom was beautiful - we may take cues from it for redoing our own bathroom. The king size bed was very comfortable. Easy parking. So cute and comfortable, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upstairs room, they were vacuuming upstairs when we were sleeping in a little late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Porches embodies a bright and original idea, turn conserved old workers houses into a modern comfortable upscale Motel. Not only the Idea was bright, but so was the execution. Everything is tastefuly done, using refurbished period furniture and good quality materials. Some minor complaints: a noisy airconditioner, and a rather meager breakfast. Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a brief stopover whilst taking in the fall foliage around The Berkshires/Mohawk Trail. What a great find. Although the setting looks, at first sight, uninspiring this renovated old mill house Inn is outstanding in all respects and has a unique feel. Friendly, helpful staff, well appointed rooms with a nice individual, artsy feel. We stayed in the red house on the corner with views to the surrounding hills. Although on a main road the room was well insulated and noise was not a problem. Nicest bath robes we've ever had! We didn't have time to take advantage of the pool and hot tub but it looked very inviting. MOCA and the town facilities just a short walk away. We wish we could have stayed longer and have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 89909397Magda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staying at Porches is a great anchor for exploring the northern Berkshires and southern Vermont. Very comfortable room, friendly helpful staff, fun antiques, and a resident cat called Sabine, what's not to love?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotteella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A unique place to stay. We absolutely loved it. We were in the blue house. The room was quite and very comfortable. They kept a funky historical feel while updating in key, important areas. Some things I especially loved: the friendly and helpful check in; the calico kitty; the robes and huge towels in the bathroom; the iPod dock alarm clock...
The outdoor pool and jacuzzi is open year round and 24 hrs a day. Adjacent is a bath house with shower and sauna and a large gathering space with wide screen TV. The breakfast is delicious: hearty bread, croissants, delicious granola, and gluten-free options available. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub on a crisp autumn morning after breakfast and before walking over to MASS MoCA for the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed here (Sage house) for a Berkshires trip and loved it! The rooms were great, very nice bathroom, B&B feel but with more amenities. The breakfast in the morning was truly great. Kudos to Porches for renovating old mill housing! We will absolutely stay here again. another bonus-MOCA is a walk across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayak41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I'm a fan! This is a nice little bed and breakfast type inn with all the amenities. The staff are super friendly and take care of your needs. There is a pool and a jacuzzi and it is conveniently located within walking distance of Mass MOCA and downtown N. Adams. Taking all the pluses into account with the price and location (it's on a major street so you hear loud cars and bikes at all hours of the night), it is a 4 out of 5 type of place. Not bad for an only option in a run down town.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
225 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
469 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
494 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.6 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range: £133 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams
The Porches Inn At MASS MoCA North Adams, MA - Berkshires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing