We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at The Porches Inn. My boyfriend and I wanted an autumn New England get away, and Porches was the perfect place to return to each night. Beautiful, charming rooms, an incredibly helpful and pleasant staff, and a cozy fire each night made our few days there so pleasant. We will definitely be back and I will be recommending it to all of our friends

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennilwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    184
    57
    14
    13
See reviews for
147
313
21
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend here in October and had a wonderful time. The room had lots of space but felt cozy thanks to the vintage furniture and (gas) fireplace. Despite having a queen bed (we're used to a king), it was very comfortable and we slept great. Breakfast was included - typical continental breakfast, but I especially liked the chocolate croissants. It's conveniently located across the street from Mass Moca, and is a short drive from several easy hikes. My only complaint is that we didn't have time to check out the pool and hot tub while we were there.

One note of caution: if you want to sleep in, bring an eye mask - the drapery is very light, which means the rooms get lots of natural light but may bother those who don't happen to be morning people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited Mass Moca again and had an overnight stay with Daisy Doo, who slept in the corner of our room contentedly. The place still has a good vibe, offers a few simple beverages from it's bar, and has a small outdoor pool and hot tub, that I took a skinny dip under the frosty night sky as I'd left my trunks in Woodstock, which was delightful and very refreshing!

Our rear facing room was quiet and we all slept well in the king bed with its duvet used the correct way without a top sheet, as the place was not busy with few guests staying on a November Tuesday night. Breakfast was simple but appetising affair, with a special mention for their brown bread which seemed home made and was delicious toasted.

Like our last visit the staff were personable and the charge for our nights stay was reasonable

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you are sensitive to road noise. The road out front is not that busy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I wish there were more places like this. We stayed here a night for a show at Tanglewood. The room was clean and had so much character with the way it's painted to the window curtains to the plates on the walls. The bathroom was beautiful - we may take cues from it for redoing our own bathroom. The king size bed was very comfortable. Easy parking. So cute and comfortable, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upstairs room, they were vacuuming upstairs when we were sleeping in a little late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Porches embodies a bright and original idea, turn conserved old workers houses into a modern comfortable upscale Motel. Not only the Idea was bright, but so was the execution. Everything is tastefuly done, using refurbished period furniture and good quality materials. Some minor complaints: a noisy airconditioner, and a rather meager breakfast. Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a brief stopover whilst taking in the fall foliage around The Berkshires/Mohawk Trail. What a great find. Although the setting looks, at first sight, uninspiring this renovated old mill house Inn is outstanding in all respects and has a unique feel. Friendly, helpful staff, well appointed rooms with a nice individual, artsy feel. We stayed in the red house on the corner with views to the surrounding hills. Although on a main road the room was well insulated and noise was not a problem. Nicest bath robes we've ever had! We didn't have time to take advantage of the pool and hot tub but it looked very inviting. MOCA and the town facilities just a short walk away. We wish we could have stayed longer and have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 89909397Magda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staying at Porches is a great anchor for exploring the northern Berkshires and southern Vermont. Very comfortable room, friendly helpful staff, fun antiques, and a resident cat called Sabine, what's not to love?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
214 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
428 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
315 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
21.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Property: The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams
The Porches Inn At MASS MoCA North Adams, MA - Berkshires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing