We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at Porches while visiting Williams College. What a special place! The suite was a perfect option traveling with our kids, and the room and inn were lovely. The decor is beautiful, rooms and bathroom spacious and clean. We had a great night's sleep at Porches. I wish we had more time to explore the area. We'll certainly stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, General Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for providing a great feedback, it makes us very happy to hear when our guests enjoy their stay.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our room was beautiful and warm with all the amenities we needed. The internet worked well and was free to boot. Breakfast was relaxing with excellent food. We hope to return the The Porches Inn the next time we go to Mass MOCA.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

It is so rewarding to hear kind words about Porches. I appreciate your time and feedback.
Hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the Porches Inn while attending a swim meet at Williams College. The Inn is charming and the service great, with a wonderful continental breakfast included with the room. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub looked wonderful but we didn't have a chance to use them. Drinks were served in the lobby area, which provided a great place for the parents to congregate in the evening. A surprisingly nice, but hardly inexpensive, place to stay in North Adams.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your recent stay and the feedback. It means a lot to us.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

After spending the day at MoMA we retreated exhausted with museum fatigue to the perfect Martha Stewart styled rooms with huge charming bathrooms and beadboard walls at the Porches Inn. The beds were wonderfully soft and the all white linens and blankets were so soft, no polyester in sight. We loved the healthy selections of granola and hearty bread and bgh free yogurt at breakfast and drank endless cups of tea in the lobby. I woke up early and sat in the hot tub while it snowed and the sun rose over the mountain and felt a million miles away even though I was only two hours from home. It was a great winter get away weekend.

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room with a view of the museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and visit us soon.

Best,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We loved staying here. Our room was very comfortable, the hot-tub and pool were amazing (84 degree pool on a single-digit winter night was delightful), the staff were super helpful. We are vegan and had good options at the continental breakfast buffet. We definitely want to find a good excuse to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sigm624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have stayed at The Porches 5 times and are returning again next month. For anyone wanting to visit Mass MoCA it is the perfect spot directly across the street. The staff is helpful, the rooms clean and the bathrooms VERY large!!! The breakfast is lovely but sometimes tends to be crowded at certain times and the outdoor pool is great. We have been in it during blizzards and heat waves.

Room Tip: The suites are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great idea to rehab a row of mill workers' houses right across from the grand old mill now housing Mass MOCA. The results are pretty impressive. Pluses: location (if you're going to the museum); beautiful large bathrooms; excellent beds, sheets, towels, robes; fine cold breakfast, in the room or in the central house; pool and fitness center; friendly, courteous staff. Minuses: the shabby thrift-store furniture, apparently meant to be, according to a brochure, "ironic," still comes across as shabby thrift-store, and is consistent with cheap window shades and pieces of fabric on strings in place of curtains; in the two-bedroom suite we shared with friends, there were no working lights in one bedroom when we arrived and none when we left, despite our reporting the problem; the breakfast room and common space are lovely, but nowhere near large enough to accommodate a full house in cold weather.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
225 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
469 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
493 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.6 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range: £132 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams
The Porches Inn At MASS MoCA North Adams, MA - Berkshires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing