We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed and Breakfast-like Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast-like Hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

What a unique hotel experience. Its like a bed and breakfast but with total privacy. The rooms are decorated shabby chic with an industrial flair. The rooms are quiet and spacious. There is a stocked refrigerator but no coffee maker in the rooms. The beds are comfy and the rooms quiet. There is complimentary breakfast served either in your room (nice touch but I did not take advantage of this) or in a dining room. The breads were fresh and delicious. Staff was friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a first floor room as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisapilorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    181
    53
    14
    13
See reviews for
136
297
21
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Porches Inn for a long weekend in mid April between snow and summer season and it proved to be an ideal vacation. The Inn itself is a row of converted factory row houses and the conversion has been rendered to maintain some of the original feel, but updated to include a lot of charm and virtually all of the amenities you would want at an upscale Inn. The rooms are very comfortable with an ample bathroom with stand alone tub and walk in shower. Our guestroom as well as the Inn at large was very clean and tidy. Using the outdoor heated pool during a blessedly warm spell in mid-April was a real treat and the fitness center was just to my daughter's liking, although the rest of our party did not use it. You cannot help but gear down when you are there, the vibe is very relaxed.

The breakfast is exceptional. Very healthy and delicious offerings in a comfortable room in the Inn's main building. A real nice touch was the DVD library and complimentary popcorn for some evening relaxation after a day of exploring the surrounding area.

The proximity to Mass MoCA could not be more convenient. And a short trip to Williamstown as well as a slightly longer drive to Stockbridge is perfect for enjoying a bit of drive while exploring

The staff was extremely gracious and friendly and the guests all seemed relaxed and in a similar state of mind. What a great break from the frenetic and sometimes cool pace of things in the greater NYC area. And, perhaps the biggest bonus, quiet rooms. We would absolutely stay at the Porches Inn again. Thanks to the staff for a great time, we cannot wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: The Inn is on a fairly well traveled road. If moderate traffic noise bothers you, ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, General Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are very thrilled with your detailed feedback.

Hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at Porches while visiting Williams College. What a special place! The suite was a perfect option traveling with our kids, and the room and inn were lovely. The decor is beautiful, rooms and bathroom spacious and clean. We had a great night's sleep at Porches. I wish we had more time to explore the area. We'll certainly stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, General Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for providing a great feedback, it makes us very happy to hear when our guests enjoy their stay.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our room was beautiful and warm with all the amenities we needed. The internet worked well and was free to boot. Breakfast was relaxing with excellent food. We hope to return the The Porches Inn the next time we go to Mass MOCA.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
It is so rewarding to hear kind words about Porches. I appreciate your time and feedback.
Hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the Porches Inn while attending a swim meet at Williams College. The Inn is charming and the service great, with a wonderful continental breakfast included with the room. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub looked wonderful but we didn't have a chance to use them. Drinks were served in the lobby area, which provided a great place for the parents to congregate in the evening. A surprisingly nice, but hardly inexpensive, place to stay in North Adams.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your recent stay and the feedback. It means a lot to us.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best,

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

After spending the day at MoMA we retreated exhausted with museum fatigue to the perfect Martha Stewart styled rooms with huge charming bathrooms and beadboard walls at the Porches Inn. The beds were wonderfully soft and the all white linens and blankets were so soft, no polyester in sight. We loved the healthy selections of granola and hearty bread and bgh free yogurt at breakfast and drank endless cups of tea in the lobby. I woke up early and sat in the hot tub while it snowed and the sun rose over the mountain and felt a million miles away even though I was only two hours from home. It was a great winter get away weekend.

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room with a view of the museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and visit us soon.

Best,

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We loved staying here. Our room was very comfortable, the hot-tub and pool were amazing (84 degree pool on a single-digit winter night was delightful), the staff were super helpful. We are vegan and had good options at the continental breakfast buffet. We definitely want to find a good excuse to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigm624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
445 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
387 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
205 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
22.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Property: The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams
The Porches Inn At MASS MoCA North Adams, MA - Berkshires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing