We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel near Mass MOCA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel near Mass MOCA”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We made a quick stop on the way home from Vermont to North Adams to visit the Clark and Mass MOCA. It was a family trip so we had one of their larger rooms with a separate bedroom. The room had a pullout bed and beautiful bathroom. We watched the World Cup final on a huge TV in a hangout space that also had a sauna--next to the pool and hot tub. Breakfast is included and is served in another building on the property--plenty of choices (not hot food-which is perfect for us) but plenty of the basic, yogurt, cereal, pastries, coffee, tea...
The staff was always friendly and helpful--there was a wide range of guests--the hotel is great for families or couples. The TV and sauna room also had some interesting picture of the before and afters of the hotel property. Enjoy your stay--our kids all want to come back for another stay.

Room Tip: We faced the street and Mass MOCA and we're not bothered by traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utopia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    185
    58
    15
    13
See reviews for
149
318
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marcellus, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I visited Porches for the first time in July 2014. Upon checking in, I was underwhelmed but the place really grows on you after the first full day. The staff are terribly polite. The main house is not large but small in a very comfortable way. There are plenty of e-z chairs to sit and read the tremendous collection of Porches and N Adams histories - all of which I found very, very interesting. The room has everything you need as a modern day traveler. There is even a minibar and of course, WIFI service. Make sure to get your morning breakfast at least once by room service and see the clever way it is brought to your room. In the rear, they have a pool, hot tub and a sauna . You can take plastic cups of your favorite beverage (even bourbon) and provides a wonderful way to meet other guests. There is onsite parking and I had absolutely no worries re: crime on the premises or the streets. The entire site shows a lot of love and care. I would most definitely return, most likely for a getaway weekend.

Room Tip: My room was in the center of the gray house (Porches consists of 5(?) Victorians in a row where each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I love this place. I have been going to The Porches since it opened. I cannot say enough about it. I think it is one of the best inns I've ever been too.

The staff are amazing. The pool and hot tub, excellent. The sauna great. The rooms are funky and fun and the beds so comfortable. Everything is done to a very high level.

A few years ago, I went out and was a little disappointed. Seemed worn and in need of some upkeep. Right now? it's sparkling clean, gorgeous. As a huge fan of MoCA, I will always revisit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Immediate proximity to the MOCA is excellent. We visited in May of 2014 staying two nights. Staff all friendly and the room clean and neat. Continental breakfast can be ordered the night before and is delivered at time you specify in a long silver lunch box. Nice touch. We had a one bedroom suite with the sitting room facing the street and the bedroom in the back. Comfortable bed and quiet at night. Sitting room area facing the road comfortable but traffic noise from street below is evident. Hard to imagine a traffic problem in North Adams but the street The Porches sits on is quite busy and traffic passing at fast clip. Housekeeping fine, pool area seemed well kept although we did not use it. Interesting to know that the Porches were built as residences for employees working at the factory (now MOCA) back in the early 1900's. We liked this Inn but I think average is a fair rating. I'm not sure we would return here if we are back in the area.

Room Tip: Recommend second floor with bedroom in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is a collection of older homes renovated into a single hotel. It is very convenient to Mass MoCA, and you can pretty much walk to anywhere in North Adams.
Like other reviewers, I can bear witness to the uneven quality of housekeeping. It was fairly good until the place filled up, then it was more hit-or-miss.
The renovation really should have included better sound proofing, as you can all-too-easily hear your neighbors - especially if they are upstairs from you.
My experience with the staff was very positive, as these guys went all ten yards to insure our stay was a good one - they were very helpful at all times.
I would have preferred a bigger TV in my room - the one I got was maybe 19 inches across.
The continental breakfast (included in the cost of the room) was exceptionally good, with fresh-made bread, croissants (try the chocolate one!) and other amenities. Never left hungry, I can tell you that.
I would certainly stay here again, and have no hesitation in recommending this place!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor, and maybe bring a white-noise machine or a fan or something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_Moosie_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Location around the block from MoCA cannot be beat if you are in town to visit the museum. We stayed a Thursday night and found it to be very quiet, however the place was practically empty! By the time we checked out at noon on Friday they were already packed and sound level much different.

I read a few reviews talking about how rude reception was. We did not encounter this, everyone was very nice and friendly to us.

We were upgraded to a deluxe room with porch. The bed was comfy and the room nicely country chic decorated. Tub was clean. Shower grout could use a bit of scrubbing and there were spots around the bathroom that looked a bit grimey but that being said, the overall condition was about what I'd expect for the price.

Breakfast was a good selection of cereal, muffins and croissant type foods, though we are not bread/cereal people so other than a hard boiled egg no fruit choices were available. They have to go cups also for coffee on the go.

We did not use the pool as we both had colds but it looked nicely maintained. The noise in the morning on the front porches from traffic is quite loud, as well as the creaks and door slams (accidental or purposeful) so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Also, the rooms do not have room darkening shades so if light is an issue bring a face mask.

Overall we had a good stay and if we were back in the area again for MoCA we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuraNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mel@Porches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After a full day of sightseeing, we returned to our room at 7:30 p.m. to discover that no housekeeping service had been done. The beds were still unmade, bathroom untouched, and breakfast dishes remained. A call to the front desk resulted in only frustration. The next morning the manager on duty was argumentative, claiming it was our fault for the room not being cleaned. We expressed our dissatisfaction with the lack of hospitality and very poor customer service. We will not return to this establishment, nor recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hether S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback.

We are very sorry that your room was missed for Housekeeping Day Service due to Do Not Disturb sign was placed on the door knob. We offer turn-down service in the evenings and it seems like turn-down service was declined. We truly hope that the compensation offered was satisfying for the inconvenience.

We hope you give us another chance and stay with us in the future.

Best,

Mel@Porches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
215 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
446 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
464 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
21.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Property: The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams
The Porches Inn At MASS MoCA North Adams, MA - Berkshires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing