We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freight Yard Restaurant & Pub

Freight Yard Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bennington, VT
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The food is okay, but I think it's way overpriced for what you get. Seems like the prices have gone up since the last time I was there...about a year ago.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank lodiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    21
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hasn't changed in twenty years - just OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This place hasn't changed in twenty years exception of their food got worse. Needs a makeover and better chef. Price is ok. Outdoor seating is nice. It's good as a drinking pub, but only OK as a restaurant.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch By The Fire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had a late afternoon lunch/early dinner by the fireplace. We ordered sandwiches and soup and an appetizer of stuffed mushrooms. I had the soup of day which was lentil and my tablemates had the new englnad clam chowder. I had fresh fish and chips, and my guests had a rueben sandwich and a chicken wrap. We washed it all down with draught beers but saved room for deserts. We opted for the cheesecakes and cups of coffee. The service was fast and friendly and we will definitely be back in the summer when all of the surronding shops are open. It was a little tricky to get to but our GPS got us there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcbeth597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good atmostphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The food is basic bar fare, but the beer is great and the atmosphere is perfect for a little old mill town.
In warm weather they have outdoor seating, which rocks.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank djunalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dependable American/tavern Food in picturesque location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Baked scrod, hamburgers, chili, sirloin tips, shrimp parmasean special done well at this pub , with an entertaining Irish band on Saturday night to boot

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank witz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freight Yard Restaurant & Pub also viewed

North Adams, Berkshires
North Adams, Berkshires
 
North Adams, Berkshires
North Adams, Berkshires
 

Been to Freight Yard Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing