We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachcomber seal watch tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Tours

Beachcomber Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beachcomber seal watch tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We just took the beachcomber seal watch tour yesterday. The small boat, with a very knowledgeable captain, motored us into the center of a huge group of seals who capered and dove and swam under the boat, or kept their watchful eyes on us from a distance. It was great fun, for me and my 13 and 9 year old nieces. The scenery is also lovely. Would do it again in a minute. Thank you Captain Skip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Seal Tour was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Decided on a last minute Seal watching tour, was able to get in without any issue. Both the shuttle bus and boat had plenty of room for what seemed to be a "full" tour. We moved about the boat while idling to see the seals on both sides of the vessel. There was plenty of space, which is a novelty on these types of attractions. The boat operator was VERY knowledgeable, and kept the kids entertained both going out and coming back from seeing the seals. He provided some great additional facts and answered each question with authority.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJBandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seals galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our family recently took a seal cruise on the Beachcomber. Luckily for us we chose a calm and sunny day. Not only is the scenery of the tour breathtaking, the tour guide was extremely informative-not only about the seals but also about the history of Chatham. We saw numerous (hundreds?) seals and at points were within 5 feet. They are such sweet and playful animals....the kids were delighted (and the adults as well). A great way to spend 90 minutes!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An easy, fun excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Beachcomber seal tours was a pleasant surprise. My sister suggested it and I'm glad we did it on my "staycation". The boat is open, so bring your sunscreen and hat, but the tour is an hour and a half so you won't get fried. The scenery on the way to the seals is gorgeous, from the sandbars to the mansions along the coast. Our tour operator was knowledgeable and interesting. The boat holds about 14 people, so you don't feel crowded. Its not expensive, and by taking the morning tour there's plenty of afternoon to visit the area and do lunch. And, last but not least, there are tons of seals! Very cute.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LizShea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Seal Watch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We went on a seal watch with beachcomber yesterday -- it was great! The phone staff was friendly and informative and clear. We arrived and had 3 adults and two children Ages 3&5. They had lifejackets and we boarded a cute trolley for a short ride to the pier. We got right on the boat which was comfortable and took a ride through the harbor. There was some quicker riding which thrilled the kids and some slow times to watch seals. The entire ride was just under 90 minutes. They were literally popping their heads all around the boat!!! The captain was knowledgeable and gave us some tidbits but didn't talk the entire time which was a good balance. Overall a great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mita g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachcomber Tours also viewed

 

Been to Beachcomber Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing