We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids, Kids and more Kids!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adventure Bound Camping Resort - Cape Cod
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kids, Kids and more Kids!!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you want a quiet camping experience, forget it here. This property is large and kids are every where on bikes and scooters, that shoot sparks. If thats not enough you can rent four wheel pedal cars. There is a 11p.m. quiet time which does help. The showers are not in good shape, many were out of order, and because its a large campground, they don't stay clean very long. If you have breathing problems or can't stand smoke, think twice about this place. Every night the area fills with smoke from the campsites, and it seems to linger in the area for a long time. If you love lots of people and there kids, make your reservation now.

Room Tip: Bring your own room, its a camping area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

On the down side, most of the sites are very small. My biggest complaint though is that they charge for things I expect to come with my site (namely a campfire ring and showers).

If you don't mind that though, this was a great location from which to explore Cape Cod. It's convenient but not too close to Provincetown, and is in walking distance to two great beaches. The staff was friendly and as campgrounds go, it was one of the cleaner ones I've seen.

A couple tips
1. If you're tent camping, bring quarters for the showers ($.50 for about 12 min). 2. Reserve a campfire ring ($5 a night)
3. The beaches are about 3/4 of a mile on a nice trail at the back of the campground. Follow the signs to the smaller N. Truro coastguard beach or make a left instead of a right after the fence landmark to the larger Head of the Meadow beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amstene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

First the good: great to be able to walk to the beach - a mile; the "premium campsite" was a nice spot; and it was a neat cultural experience to see how RV campers camp. I think families have a very good time there and must create a lot of wonderful memories. The not so good: we were crammed in with 300 RV's, and at $65 for a tent site it was way over priced - considering one has to walk to the bath house for water - and they charge for the showers. In addition to charging for the showers, they were clogged so the shower room was swampy. I also think the staff need to review emergency procedures. For example, just as we were driving to our campsite, a woman - who had nearly hit us in her SUV - actually did hit a child on a bicycle. When I called the front desk to let them know, they were pretty non-plussed about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HungryInOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our first time camping at Adventure Bound but not the first time camping on the Cape. Adventure Bound was nicely located near places we wanted to see and beaches we anted to visit.

I'm not sure why people complain about paying for the showers. I thought that $0.50 was very reasonable for the time allowed. Actually, we paid $2 for less time when camping on Mt Desert Island in Maine. There was plenty of hot water here. But, there seemed to be a need for more shower stalls. In one men's room there were only two. Another men's bathroom had 4 but 2 were out of order. I didn't look at any more so I'm not sure how many other stalls there are. We were pleased to noticed that the bathrooms were cleaned on a regular basis (why are people such slobs?)

The office staff was friendly and efficient. We got checked in quickly and our site was ready with the firepit in place. One thing about the firepits: while I don't mind paying for the shower, it seems to me that firepits could be on all the primitive sites instead of having to rent one for $5/night. The $40/night for a just primitive tent site was a bit high without the additional charge for a fire pit. If charging to rent a fire pit, why not charge to rent the picnic table? And they want you to buy wood that they sell. You'd think they'd sell more wood if the firepits were on each site.

We didn't buy anything at the camp store - except wood which was just over $6/bundle

Access to Coastguard Beach is a pleasant walk through the woods. It can be biked but a baby stroller might be difficult because of the sand. I measured the walk with my GPS as 1.18 miles from our campsite.

Campsites were a bit closer together than some places we've stayed. The RVs are really packed in tight. Because of this, we thought that the camp would be noisier than it was - especially with all the kids biking and riding the rented pedal carts. But, where we were in the primitive tent sites, things quieted down as it began to get dark. Maybe it was louder near the office and the WIFI.

Overall, it was good. We'd stay here again unless we were to find a less expensive similar location. I think next time we'll ask for primitive sites further in the back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CT-wni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at the Horton location for 2 nights in mid July. There was some trash scattered on our site when we arrived so the staff could be more attentive to clean up after someone checks out. We did not receive the fire pit that was reserved ahead of time but did receive a refund when we left. The rest rooms were clean - did not use the showers but they looked clean. Our site was small but trees and bushes offered some privacy. We enjoyed the location - peaceful and quiet. Water and electric hookups were at the site and worked fine. Dump station was clean and convenient. We would suggest some landscaping and maintenance, especially around the rest rooms/showers. Brush is overgrown and it would not take much to plant a few flowers or shrubs to spruce it up a bit. The showers are free, and you can get a $1 token for the bus to Provincetown. Prices in the store/rec area were very reasonable. Overall it was a pleasant experience and we would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShareTravelInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My family has been going to Horton's since 1965. I was saddened to hear about it closing. Bob ran a tight ship, but the result was a clean, quiet campground. The beauty of the upper level is beyond wonderful!! So many campgrounds put campers one on top of another. I don't go camping to hear my neighbors conversations or their TV's!! I would love to start going back to Horton's, but truthfully we need the bathrooms updated and kept clean. Until we see better reviews about the cleanliness, we'll be renting a cabin.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenAdelska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

we (group of 4 )stayed there for 2 nights in 3rd week of June. Place is highly recommended. Honest Pricing. we were looking for water and ice about 9 p.m., the store was closed,and. one of the management staff opened the shop for us and met our requirement.
RVs were really nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistyman420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
4.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
5.3 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Outer Reach Resort
Outer Reach Resort
#4 of 11 in North Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape View Motel
Cape View Motel
#5 of 11 in North Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Sea Motor Inn
Blue Sea Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in North Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Bound Camping Resort - Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Bound Camping Resort - Cape Cod

Property: Adventure Bound Camping Resort - Cape Cod
Address: 46 Highland Road, North Truro, MA 02652
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in North Truro
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Adventure Bound Campground Hotel North Truro
Adventure Bound Camping Resort - Cape Cod North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing