We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly vacation with pet spot on outer cape with view of Provincetown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Outer Reach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outer Reach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly vacation with pet spot on outer cape with view of Provincetown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for two nights a Sunday and Monday. Couldn't have been more pleased with the location! We had been before, but I called ahead to ask about the pool and dog park. The pool no longer exists, though that may change. The pool has been exchanged for a "dog park" that offers a nice shaded area for people to watch their pets. There is water for the pets in the park and some agility type spots for the dogs too. We found a ball that our golden loved to play with, and ran into another couple (from NY) who came with their pet too. The rooms are basic, and their was a microwave and refrigerator. NO utensils, cork screw etc. but when we went to the front desk, they did make them available to us. We had a end unit in a dog friendly building that gave us a view of the dog park as well as the tip of Provincetown! They did have a continental breakfast, coffee, hot chocolate, bagels and danish and muffins were out to help yourself. Rosie was there, from Jamaica, and she was delightful to talk with! She made sure we had what we needed - I should add she is a house-keeper at the resort, and the room was super clean. As for the beach, well, we drove to that, but we did see the seals in the water....it's about a 15 min. walk if you drive and then walk into the national seashore..ask at the desk and they will give directions. Bring some water as the walk can be quite hot~ We
will back with Ollie! Thank you.

Room Tip: There are rooms with decks - spend the extra money. It's worth it. We found that the end unit w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    111
    37
    25
    26
See reviews for
88
123
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have visited this hotel on several vacations over the years. Our most recent stay was the first in close to a decade. It is a quiet place sitting above the bustling streets of Provincetown and the beaches of the National Seashore.The furnishings are simple and clean.The views from the grounds are quite impressive.Bonnie is the woman in charge and can steer you to many interesting places.She and her staff take a personal interest in the guests at this unique place.

Room Tip: The units are spread about the property and the view differs from each building.The staff helped sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We loved this simple motel. It is on a high point overlooking the Bay, about 5 miles from P-Town. You can bike there, or to various beaches and ponds nearby. Outer Reach has about 60 rooms, most with balconies; I would guess that they have close to 100 acres of property (no direct beach access). Rooms are simple, but have small fridges and are clean. Staff is friendly and laid-back. They have a Continental Breakfast (excellent coffee, bagels, muffins, juice) and you can outside on a big deck. I heard they are building a pool that will be done in late July. They also have one tennis court and a basketball court that needs to be re-surfaced.

We stayed here before the high season (early June) and it was very quiet. We chose it because of the reasonable price, proximity to stuff in the area, and also largely because they allow you to bring along dogs. They have a small dog park where you can run you pooch a little. Plus you can hike from there to the Ocean along various paths. The area is LOADED with ticks, so make sure that you check your four-legged friend after each walk. I do not exaggerate when I say that we found 30 ticks on our dog after a long hike.

Anyway, we would recommend the Outer Reach to anyone who is looking for an economical, dog-firendly, no-frills place a short hop from P-Town, Welfleet, etc. If you are looking for a fancy place, or a quaint little B&B, this is not the place for you. But we loved it (my wife, 14-year old son, and Boarder Collie).

Room Tip: There are about 5 rooms that have the best view of the Bay. I don't know the room numbers, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

LOVED this place!--beautiful views from the highest point on the CAPE COD peninsula, great coffee in the complementary continental breakfast, songbirds abound outside (that I never hear in NYC) & they love your pet!--- WHAT more could you ask for? Nearby PILGRIM GARDENS beach is wild and pristine.
Swimming pool is coming soon, but there is a nearby pool to use, Bonnie along with the rest of the staff are friendly, happy & helpful.

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony/porches
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliw253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were very pleased. We did not bring our dogs on this trip , but next time we will. So close to P Town, but quiet, clean and private. So nice to discover a hideaway Hotel away form the others, with connections to downtown P Town. We would come back again, and will.. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

our visit was very good. the dog was happy, hubby and wife happy! the rooms are out dated, BUT our room was very clean, cleaner than some of the 5 star resorts we have stayed in! the play yard for the dogs was awesome, bonnie and her staff made us feel part of the family, bonnie even surprised david and I with a beautiful table set with champagne glasses and a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate 20 of marriage and 9 months cancer free.1 so we had a lot to be thankful for, and the extra blessing making new friends! this is now our choosen spot when we come back to the cape thank you bonnie and everyone for making this a very special weekend god bless and love dave and deb wood

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dooziedoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford Hills, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent Memorial Day week at Outer Reach again...Pet friendly, Continental Breakfast, reasonable rates, close to Ptown. The staff are friendly and courteous. They also endeavor make returning guests feel like family. Bonnie & Chipper welcome you at the check-in desk.

Room Tip: Definitely get one of the "Water view" rooms. Great views of Ptown and the monument acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
1.4 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Sea Motor Inn
Blue Sea Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in North Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Top Mast Resort
Top Mast Resort
#1 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cape View Motel
Cape View Motel
#5 of 11 in North Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Reach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Reach Resort

Property: Outer Reach Resort
Address: 535 Route 6, North Truro, MA 02652
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in North Truro
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Reach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Outer Reach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Reach Hotel North Truro
Outer Reach Motel
Outer Reach Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing