We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place BUT Offensive, Intrusive, Rude and Unfriendly Management”

Harbor View Village
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbor View Village
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Nice Place BUT Offensive, Intrusive, Rude and Unfriendly Management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

The cottages are well kept and well equipped and situated in a good location offering a great view of the bay/harbor -- However: (a) there isn't much of a sense of privacy -- all the units are kind of on top of one another (b) the units aren't really on the beach -- to get to the beach you have to walk a long convoluted path through an adjoining motel's property (c) very few outdoor amenities -- deck chairs are stiff wooden adirondack chairs w. no cushions -- no chaise lounges or beach chairs provided (d) bathrooms are tiny w. stall showers so small you have to squeeze in --- etc...etc...
But the main problem is the manager/caretaker -- He always seems to be nosing about - constantly wandering by your cottage for one reason or another -- constantly reminding you of various rules and regulations -- asking inappropriate personal questions; etc... The place doesn't even allow you to have guests over even for a brief visit -- In general, the atmosphere was very inhospitable, unwelcoming and unfriendly -- one might even say "cold". There are far better places to stay in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jazzman010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Our one-room cabin was clean and nicely laid out, with partial room divider between bedroom and kitchen. Up-to-date stove, oven, microwave, fridge, and toaster oven are in the kitchen, but no outdoor grill. Location on top of bluff makes for great views of Bay and P-town from kitchen table, yet windows are situated so no one can look in. The private beach features calm, warm water for swimming, though there are some easement issues getting down to it. Proprietors are friendly and helpful. Linens and towels are included in the rental but you must BYO beach towels, sand chairs, cooler, etc. Close to P-town, beaches, fish market, and a few restaurants, but far enough removed to escape the crowds. Surprisingly private, given the number of units (14?) on the property. This review is for unit #9. We also enjoyed our stay in unit #10, where bedroom and kitchen are completely separate rooms and deck has better view, but bathroom is smaller. These units are not air conditioned, so can get warm during the day, but ceiling fans and outside breezes help cool them off at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

The two bedroom cottage we stayed in is modern, very clean and offers spectacular views of the bay and P-town. We highly recommend Harbor View Village for a relaxing and laid back vacation. We loved to watch the indescribable sunsets and to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. Michael and Marion who manage the resort in a professional manner will go out of their way to help you and make your stay comfortable. We are definitely planning to go back again. In fact we have already reserved for next summer.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadians99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2005

The condo unit was clean, roomy and updated and fully eqipped. Parking is convenient. The unit had sheets and towels provided and was right on cape cod bay. Very relaxing and close to all the great restaurants and shops in Provincetown. We took the shuttle to town for only $1 each way! The children loved the beaches, bike trail, pirate museum and whale watch. Lots to do and enjoy. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2004

The view is very pretty and the units are right on the beach, but beware the plumbing! Our unit's bathroom showers turned scalding hot when visitors in other units flushed. Although the management allows children, this resort is not kid friendly.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2003

This place will make your vacation relaxing. The property consists of 12 units - cottages, studios or 2 bedrooms...all equipped with kitchens and baths. On cape cod bay, just a shuttle ride to P-town. Nice place to relax after a day in town or at the private beach. There's a golf course and lighthouse near by as well as many Nat'l Seashore beaches.
Great restaurants too. Super clean! You park right near or in front of your unit. Easy in and out!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2003

Wonderful experience, super clean units and friendly, competent staff.
Sat on the private beach and watched the sunset, incredible. Shuttle to and from p-town was extremely handy - loved not having to drive! Great Time!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
1.9 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.6 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.3 mi away
Top Mast Resort
Top Mast Resort
#1 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lis Sur Mer
Lis Sur Mer
#2 of 7 in North Truro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Village

Property: Harbor View Village
Address: 168 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 147, North Truro, MA 02652
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in North Truro
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Harbor View Village North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing