We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Restaurant ~ Food Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whitman House

The Whitman House
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in North Truro
Price range: US$0 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
NYC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“OK Restaurant ~ Food Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We usually get to this Restaurant once a year on vacation. Very rustic and dark interior, dimly lit. Service was adequate , server very sullen and serious. Menu choices were good although we felt it was a bit pricey. Maybe next year we'll pass on this, used to be better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDaDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    18
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SW WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great family meal here - great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have been to many restaurants in Eastham, Wellfleet, and Truro over the years. We had a lovely meal with 8 people here last Thursday. The atmosphere was wonderful - in fact, I mentioned numerous times that I much prefer the Whitman House atmosphere to that of a nice restaurant that we have eaten at many times, across from the Marconi Beach entrance in South Wellfleet. We were there a couple of weeks ago with friends, and while the food was good, there were just too many people packed in there, and it was too noisy. We are going back to the Whitman House this evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CandKSwWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been here many times and never been disappointed. Food is great and the building is a gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Never had a bad meal. Have gone with numerous groups and no one ever complained about food or service. have asked locals where to go and many recomend The Whitman House. Go - you will not regret it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was better in the past”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was once a definite stop while on our annual Cape Cod vacation in North Truro. Food was excellent and service great in the past. Went this year at the end of June and was completely disappointed. We found the food to be mediocre at best. The chef's special was over-priced and came out barely luke warm. The crackers served with cheese spread before the soup and salad were stale and crumbled. Waitress was fine, but what was once on my lists of don't miss is now on my list of don't bother.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The food was good and at a reasonable price for the Cape during the summer. The waiter was very nice. One kid didn't like the spaghetti sauce as they said it was too sweet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whitman House also viewed

 
North Truro, Cape Cod
North Truro, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Whitman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing