We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our annual pilgrimage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crow's Nest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crow's Nest Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Our annual pilgrimage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stay at the Crow's Nest every year - ever since my husband and I went there for our honeymoon. The Captain's Quarters is just wonderful - three bedrooms, two living room areas, a full kitchen (fully equipped) and dining area, full sized washer and dryer, two bathrooms (one with a jacuzzi), two fireplaces. Enough room for our three kids and their spouses/fiances/significant others. We've also stayed in a studio when it was just my husband and myself at other times of the year. Something to keep in mind about this or any place up in this area of the Cape is that they are closed down entirely from November - April or so. The motels take a beating during the winter, then when the season starts they are usually booked up continuously. Sand is tracked in and out, kids put body parts thru screens, washers overflow, stuff really happens. But anytime something happened during any of our stays (including an overflowing washing maching upstairs once - dripping on our heads in the unit below!) it was immediately handled. Yes, furnishings can get beat up during season, but they are replaced as quickly as possible, with a smile. If you have any questions, need an opinion as to where to eat or to shop the onsite manager is more than happy to help.

This is not a place for luxury. It's a nice, clean spot in a very special area. You have Cape Cod Bay literally outside your door. Sometimes it's so beautiful you don't want to go back into your room at all. Sometimes it's so stormy the waves hit the door of your room! The first thing we do in the morning is go out with our coffee and just sit. The first thing we do when we come back from an outing is go out with a glass of wine or a beer and just sit. It's that kind of place. Every time we come back it's like we never left.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gatsbyCleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    46
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
103
134
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

We've been going to the Crow's Nest for years, despite the rude behavior we rec'd from a previous Manager. The place looked almost brand new upon our very first visit; unfortunately, every year since, we've noticed considerable wear on the rooms we've stayed in, ie., couch dirty and spotted, the kitchen floor very scratched and marked up, lightbulbs out throughout the rooms (probably minor to some). This past visit, the fireplace took along time to turn on and when it did, the flame was no more than an inch high (weird because the other units had great flame presence to enjoy).

Don't get us wrong, we love our time at the Crow's Nest and there is nothing better than looking out the window and all you see is water. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We are just hoping that these units don't continue to get run down as they do describe them as "Our new luxury accommodations include ceramic tile.....". Are there new luxury units and we just weren't lucky enough to stay in one? Perhaps. :)

Before we book for next year, we'll give Michelle or Charlene a call to rent one of these new units. Michelle is great, very pleasant, and easy going. We didn't have the chance to meet Charlene....perhaps next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeTravelAlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scahrraihs, Owner at Crow's Nest Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
We are constantly repainting suites and replacing furniture (couches, mattresses, etc.) as well as keeping up with many other standards required of a 3-diamond AAA property. In early 2010 we completely repainted entire suites, replaced floors and installed new sectionals and couches in approximately ½ the property (something we do only when we are closed in the winter). We are currently working on the remaining rooms this off-season as well as upgrading all our TV’s to large flat screens throughout the property. This guest stayed in November (the end of our season) and the suite would have seen many other guests over the 8 months prior to their visit and was no doubt one of the rooms we were unable to attending to last year but will certainly this off-season. They will certainly be pleased to know their next visit will be as good or better than their first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

A suprise weekend away landed me here and it could not have been better. Great views, very clean, the staff was great and P-town is right down the road! I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jm42817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We've been traveling to Cape Cod for many, MANY, years, but this was our first trip to Truro. I found the Crow's Nest Resort via internet search. The proximity to P-Town was only about 3 miles, which was great for biking. We also took advantage of the buses that run to P-Town every half hour - very convenient since the bus stop was right next to the resort.

I will say that the Crow's Nest was not my typical Cape Cod experience. It was more of an island resort style vacation, minus the resort style services. We were right on the bay, which was great, but I really missed the cool breezes of the ocean beach and the shade of the trees!

That aside, the Crow's Nest was a good find. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit, on the lower level, and it had a full kitchen, dining table, living area, along with a separate bedroom. It wasn't a roomy unit, but it worked out well just the same, since there were only 3 of us - 2 adults and a toddler.

Some positive notes: the maid service was great; there were plenty of clean, fluffy white towels every day; the room was very bright; and the kitchen was well equipped and had plenty of counter space.

Negative notes (but honest!): The bed was very comfy, but unfortunately squeaked with the slightest movement; the couch in our unit was very worn; and the unit was lacking in living space. I also feel the nightly room rate was too costly!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minivacatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We were so pleased with our overnight stay in mid-June. We booked at the last minute with the staff's careful attention to our needs and notification of a cancellation that fit our schedule and budget. Ground floor accommodation was perfect for lazy afternoon in sun w/hubby sharing snacks and drinks on the deck. Our son enjoyed the beach and the one-bedroom setup was just right for our small family. Kitchen amenities were very good and the bathroom was nice. The jacuzzi tub was an added treat. Only drawback would be the sounds from the road and highway that drifted thru open windows in the bedroom...but the salt air contributed to an excellent night's sleep. Definitely alot of different apartments, so not the secluded get away, but very nice indeed! We plan to go back...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitoMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nandover
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

My seventh year at CNR and still the best value anywhere. The rooms are exactly as advertised. They are clean, the furniture is near new and it is the best place I've been to on the lower Cape. Great for kids!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nandover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Not sure why this place calls itself a resort, it really is just a motel. We were told that the two bedroom suite accommodates 8...not really, it may be able to sleep 8 but that's it. You can't even fit 8 people at the table. The photos/virtual tours of the rooms are very deceiving, it makes the place look much, much bigger than it really is. Also, when they say air-conditioning, don't assume central AC, there was a wall unit in the kitchen and that was it. The bedrooms baked while the kitchen area was freezing...sleeping was brutal the first night. Although they did give us box fans the next day to try and cool the bedrooms down, it was extremely noisy and cumbersome to have them in the doorways.
The dishwasher broke while we were there, although they did fix it the same day, it was an annoyance more so because the kitchen only had 8 pieces of flatware which meant the dishwasher needed to be run after every meal...a few more utensils would be nice.
Another annoyance, while minor in the grand scope of things, is that the washer/dryer unit took 4 hours for a cycle from start to finish.
The outside of the first floor units was definitely better than the second floor. The first floor had nice Adirondack chairs while the second floor had rickety old wooden benches.
To me, a resort is a place that offers plenty of amenities that make you want to stay...I did not find any of that here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank prockCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scahrraihs, Owner at Crow's Nest Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
This unit is our only delux two-bedroom (2 full bath) suite that will accommodate 8 people with two queen beds, two twin beds and a queen sleeper sectional in the living area. There is plenty of dining area for 8 people. The air-conditioning was engineered specifically for the unit and each of the two bedrooms as well as the living room have ceiling fans that are designed to keep a free flow of cool air throughout the unit even during the hottest of days. Extra fans are always provided when requested. We understand air-conditioned comfort level is subjective and strive to make each guest as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
0.3 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.2 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.5 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Top Mast Resort
Top Mast Resort
#1 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crow's Nest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crow's Nest Resort

Property: Crow's Nest Resort
Address: 496 Shore Rd., Rt. 6A, North Truro, MA 02652
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
#2 Family Hotel in North Truro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crow's Nest Resort! Our stunning 300' direct ocean front location provides every suite unobstructed ocean views. True luxury accommodations with daily housekeeping offer ceramic tile, hardwood flooring, air conditioning, fireplaces, Jacuzzi, high speed Internet, DVD, cable TV, HBO. Large fully stocked kitchens include: dishwasher, microwave, range, washer/dryer, etc. We offer studio, one, two, and three-bedroom suites that accommodate two to eight guests. See why we are AAA's highest rated property in all of Truro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crow`s Nest Hotel North Truro
Crows Nest Hotel
Crows Nest Motel
Crow's Nest Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing