We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There are better options”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

First, the good:
-Room was reasonably clean. I have significant dust allergies and had no problems sleeping.
-Pool and hot tub were nice and clean. They have dim lighting at night which actually adds a nice ambiance to the swimming experience. It's also typically open very late, and we actually met the owner of the property there.
-The owner is very nice and friendly, and actually took a lot of interest in our vacation and gave us some tips. He even gave one of us an extra bicycle pedal from some old bikes he had lying around and helped us install it.
-The rooms are right on the beach. It's only a two minute walk over the sand to reach the water.

Now, the bad:
-It was advertised as having two beds and a "futon-style couch". It was in fact just a two-seat couch. We had to share a bed. By the time we found out we were too tired to bother arguing over a room change.
-The shower didn't work (though the bath faucet did) and the handle was grimy. Didn't complain for the same reasons as above.
-There was soap, but no shampoo (ironically that ended up not being a problem since the shower didn't work- see above)
-The air conditioner was oddly weak for its size, and getting at it was quite difficult. It was mounted high on the wall, so you had to climb on a table or a chair to change the settings. I slammed my head against the ceiling twice trying to play with it.
-When we first arrived after a long bike ride, we were resting outside talking and stretching before checking in. The front desk woman came out and asked us what we wanted rather snarkily, and when told that we had reservations, left in a huff.
-Later that night when we came back from dinner around 8:30pm, we found her ASLEEP behind the counter on the sofa. We were going to ask for shampoo (see above) but decided that with the attitude she gave us earlier we had no desire to wake her up and get into a confrontation.
-Location-wise, it's okay. You can bike ~10 minutes into Provincetown or take the shuttle bus (runs every 30 minutes) into the town, or drive of course. The thing is that it's in a huge long block of other hotels, and there's nothing especially good location-wise about this place. There is a shuttle bus stop right outside the hotel, but the shuttle stop are pretty close together anyway.

Considering the cost, I think you can find a better place to spend the night. I feel bad giving this place a negative review since the owner is a very pleasant guy and likely would have been accommodating/offered us a free future stay if we had complained to him, but after our very long ride we felt zero desire to try to argue for features that should inherently be part of the room (couch bed, shower, and shampoo).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    8
    13
    35
See reviews for
30
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is an old place that needs a lot of work. The location is great. Nearer down town Provincetown and right on the beach.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but when you can't even take a shower, it's bad. The shower did not work. There are abosolutely no amenities in the room either, so don't even expect tissue.

Room Tip: Choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Truro hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Few words... The hotel is beyond rundown, very old, many things are not working and the price is absolutely out of the market for what is offering. I used for one night only, waiting for the whale cruise and the visit to the fantastic Provincetown. The lobby is always desert, it is also unsafe.
We arrived at 8 pm and we left immediately at 8 am. Suggest to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricco64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaprovincetown, Owner at Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Patricia,
It is too bad that you were disappointed with your lodging but you are wrong to say that the
carpets are from the 1980's.The carpets were installed 2 years ago and came from the U.S.
mills. You did not say anything about loud music when you were here and we do not allow
loud music. Furthermore , the linens are quite new and we do not have any obnoxious
people staying here. They are all nice and well mannered and well behaved. We'll keep
your comments in mind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend this summer, and it was terrific. I was very worried about staying here because of the reviews, but we found it perfectly clean. The location, by the way, is terrific. It's outside Provincetown (about an 8 minute bike ride), which means it's quiet, and it's beautiful: it's right on the beach, and each apartment has a private balcony. It's less expensive than staying in town, and it's worth it. Not the best place ever, but not the worst, either. We liked it, and we'll likely go back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayres S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Motel beyond rundown, scary on many levels. Myself and my traveling partner ended up with mold infections( 2 completely health people ) The smell in the room was so bad, bed stunk! Never again. This place needs to be closed down. This is the first review I have ever written.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

we had a family wedding in Provincetown in mid-July. we needed a place to stay for 2 nights convenient to Ptown that wasn't outrageously expensive, or already sold out, or had a longer minimum stay required. i was leery of White Sands due to other reviews, and only agreed to stay here because a family member had done so in the past. we had a 2 bedrm/1bath unit--- queen bed in good-sized main room, and 2 twins in the smaller room. the only a/c was a window-type unit in the smaller BR that had to blow out into the main room also. you couldn't close the doors to the small room, or no air would get to the main room. small room had peeling wallpaper in spots, and older carpet. main room had newer carpet. the mattresses looked new, but were not covered w/ mattress protectors. pillows were old and stained-- no protectors on them either. (glad i brought my own.) some of the sheets/pillowcases had old stains on them--- you could tell that they'd been laundered, and the stains were old, but still --yuck! the tub/shower surround looked fairly new--- no dirt or mold, thankfully. towels were clean, unstained, and of decent thickness. the only "toiletries" provided were tiny soaps. the main room had a table/chairs, a mini-fridge/freezer and a coffeepot; however, no coffee! the rooms were clean, just old. enjoyed the outdoor pool, which was clean. beach was full of seaweed, so didn't spend much time there (we were there for a wedding, not a true vacation.) the best thing about this place is the location-- easy drive into Ptown, or the shuttle stops right on Shore rd---$2 each way. i wouldn't want to spend a "vacation" here, but it met our needs for the 2 nights. i think we may have been lucky with our room showing some recent updates (the carpet and mattresses)--- i have no idea what other rooms were like. i vacillated between "poor" and average" on my overall rating of this property; if there had been a "below average" choice, i would have picked that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent 4 nights at this motel last week. The location is good with direct access to the beach on the bay side, two swimming pool in good conditions. The room was just OK and the price too.

BUT, BUT, BUT, This motel needs urgent renovations and it doesn't seem that the management wants to do it. There is everywere a bad smell. If I can make a suggestion, get rid of all the carpets everywere and also repair the balconies, someone will get hurt soon.

I DO NOT RECOMMANDE THIS PLACE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILOUCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
0.6 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
911 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
233 reviews
3.0 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Kalmar Village
Kalmar Village
#7 of 11 in North Truro
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel

Property: Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel
Address: 706 Shore Road (Route 6A), on the North Truro/Provincetown line, North Truro, MA
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront White Sands Hotel North Truro
Hotel Beachfront White Sands
Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing