We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Me, my husband and my daughter have been staying at the Sandbars for about 12 years. We get the same room every year. This year we have been there three times. I can't think of one negative thing to say about this place. The hotel is right on Cape Cod Bay and you can see Provincetown from there. The rooms are spotless and the beds are extremely comfortable. You are only 5 minutes from P-town and you can hop on the shuttle bus just outside the hotel. The managers Pattee and Brian make you feel like family! If you are looking for a clean, well cared for place to have your vacation and create beautiful memories the Sandbars will not disappoint you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorigal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

As a family with very limited time and very limited money, we thought we'd splurge on a more expensive hotel since we only had 3 days off. We'd never been as far up the cape as Truro and thought we'd give it a try. We left very early Friday morning to beat the traffic and be able to enjoy a full day on the cape. While we knew our check in was not until 4:00pm, every other hotel I've ever gone too (and for at least 60.00-100 bucks less a day) has always allowed us to use the facilities without access to our room before check in. We arrived at Sandbars before 10:00am. The man we met in the parking lot would disavow us of that notion quickly.

He noted we had arrived before people had even checked out. We assured him that we did not expect access to our room just to the beach to which he replied "Believe me, I've heard it all before..." and went on to list prior guests inconveniences of wanting bathrooms and places to change. Imagine that. I wanted to reply "Well you've never heard it before from ME as I've never been here before." But I didn't and just said "Okay then, would it be okay if we just LOOKED at the water?" He seemed to soften a bit and perhaps he started to recognize how unwelcoming he sounded "Oh, sure, sure..." But it was too late the damage had been done and we felt bad about how much we were paying and as though we made a terrible mistake. The kids referred to him as the "mean guy". (He really was fairly pleasant AFTER that but why shouldn't he be, we really are low maintenance people, and it isn't as though we were squatters--we were paying guests!). We went off to "kill" FIVE hours as there was no way we would dream of coming back toooo early. Upon check in the girl at the desk told us she'd tried to reach us to tell us our room was ready...she also was not warm and friendly and did not respond to my question about what number she tried. At any rate it set the tone for our stay...anything they did right afterward was too little-too late.

We went for a walk a mile and a half down the road to a little market to pick up some milk for breakfast only to discover that it was closed at 6:00 on Fridays. We walked back and were exhausted from the long day. We ordered two pizzas that night to be delivered and that came to $49.00!!! We almost popped a gasket (admittedly the pizza was great). Needless to say we cooked in the following night and ate all breakfasts and most lunches at the hotel (PBJs and cold pizza:)...The dinner I fixed at the hotel was further complicated by the fact that there were only 3 forks in the silverware--so hey, I ate my chicken with a spoon. And the DVD player advertised in every room wasn't in ours and we had to call to get that, although admittedly the guy responded very quickly. But I wasn't willing to call down and ask for a fork and at 338.00 a night I shouldn't really have to.

This was a very expensive vacation for such a short time. We will do better research next time...338.00 for a comfortable bed and a view of the bay is not exactly much bang for your buck.

Bottom line- PROs: very clean rooms, very comfortable beds, and it seemed very pet friendly (we wished we'd brought ours!) CONS: no service/office almost never opened, no nearby food or shops, no pool or hot tub

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Savalumom9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed at The Sand Bars in Truro with a group of friends for a three day weekend in July. The rooms were spacious and contained everything needed to cook if you chose to do so. The rooms all looked right out onto the beach. The bus to Provincetown stopped across the street from the hotel. The staff was very accomodating and we were able to use the grill they provided one night by arranging for its use ahead of time. The girls who cleaned the rooms were very polite and did a great job. Would definately recommend this hotel and will go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bekkmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Very nice hotel, rooms were clean and well appointed. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. All rooms had a balcony facing the ocean. Location is excellent, an easy bike trip to downtown Provincetown and bike trails in the dunes. Hotel is right on a bus line which runs about every 30 minutes into downtown Provincetown. Not cheap but none of the nice hotels on the Cape are cheap in July.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otismjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Sandbars is an excellent hotel for accomodations and location. The rooms are very comfortable wth terrific access to the beach. Riding the bus into Provincetown is so convenient from out in front of the hotel. The owners are very accomodating to the guests needs. I would recommend Sandbars to anyone looking for a vacation in a beautiful area of Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCPart-timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Had the pleasure of staying at Sandbars with friends from college and their families. The college graduates met many years ago and graduated in the late 70s (1978 for most). Since then we get together with families the third week of July every year for a reunion of sorts. Location varies year to year and has included stays in CT, RI, VT, NH & ME - this is the first time we stayed at the Sandbars - it was great, one of, if not the best place we've stayed in a few decades. Clean modern facility, comfortable rooms with kitchens and a great staff (Hi - Pattee). Brought a Weber grill with us and had a cookout on the sand behind the building one evening. A great time - wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend the Sandbars

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Pattee & Brian at Sandbars we nice enough (and brave enough!) to accomodate our friendly group of 30 for a 3 nite stay in Mid-July. We did fill 9 of their 16 rooms.
The spotless rooms were very well appointed with kitchenettes and very comfortable bedding. The location is just great! The views from the balconies are gorgeous and they have their own stretch of beach to enjoy. It is an easy bike or bus ride to P'Town for the restaurants, shopping and people watching.
If you don't care for the large motel atmosphere, I would highly recommend Sandbars as an excellent choice for your stay on the Cape!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
1.9 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
926 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
1,121 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
706 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.8 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay

Address: 570 Shore RD, Beach Point, North Truro, MA 02652
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Truro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range: £100 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbars On Cape Cod Bay Hotel North Truro
Sandbars On Cape Cod Bay North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing