We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Spot but filthy room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Horizons Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Spot but filthy room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

I was so excited to visit the Cape but this place let it down. All the other reviews are great so I was looking forward to our accommodation but was very disappointed. The room we got was not on the water, but across the road, which was fine but seemed as though it had not been cleaned since last summer! it was dusty there were small bugs on the bed and hairs. we got a cheap rate but now I know why. If you are staying here make sure you pay the extra for a front room. amazing spot though!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Horizons Beach Resort is a nice outer cape spot tucked right on the bay which makes it optimal for children as opposed to the ocean which can get rough and is colder. While the rooms are nothing fancy, they are clean and the shower is powerful and hot if desired (always a good thing). The staff at the desk is courteous and gets it done when needed. You also can avoid all the hustle and bustle of say Yarmouth and the restof the upper cape.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3chorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Just returned from a weekend stay at Horizons. We stayed in one of the newer 2 bedroom cottages facing the pool and bay. It was very clean, bright, and the common area was quite spacious. Furnishing are a mish mash, but all in good condition. The price was right for a 2-bedroom in the shoulder season. A few things to consider when booking: we entered the cottage to find that the second bedroom was the size of a closet, with bunk beds (obviously geared toward families), but as we were 4 adults, this wasn't ideal. The manager quickly moved us to another cottage with twin beds in a slightly larger room. In the busy season, this probably wouldn't have been possible, so be sure to ask when booking. Second, the twin beds are ROCK HARD and the pillows are thin and insubstantial... bring your own or ask for extras. Finally, if you're hoping for quiet, the cottages probably won't provide it in-season. Our cottage was tucked between the pool and route 6A, and while quiet enough in early May, will almost certainly not be in the summer. All in all, though, we were happy with our stay, and would come back again now that we know what to ask for when booking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderingstar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

My husband and I just returned from a mini-vacation on the Cape. We liked the area south of Provincetown where we had decided to stay - close to town, but more peaceful, and situated a short drive from some lovely unspoiled nature. The Horizons Beach Resort looked somewhat more modest than its name implied. However, when we entered our room (at the far end of the shore-front units) we were delighted: Large, comfortable, with lovely views of Provincetown Bay, and all conveniences. In the morning we brewed ourselves some coffee, and sat watching the sea birds while enjoying the cranberry-walnut bread we had purchased in the little grocery store in North Truro. And at night we watched the sun set over the Bay. Beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CatRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

my wife and i spent one week at the horizon beach hotel in july of this year.found the location excellent...waking up to a breathtaking view of the bay...the rooms were extremely clean and air conditioner worked great...room had mini kitchen with all the accessories including fridge...location excellent for all the excursions we took...only minutes from provincetown the main
tourist area....walking on the waters edge as the sun was setting was exhilerating...wonderful memories and a great time ....higly reccommend this wonderful hotel...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — location off the main highway
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank balatonmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

Our stay at Horizons Beach Resort was totally excellent. The room was quite clean, we had a beachfront unit with a lovely view and the location of the hotel is convenient to everything on the outer cape. The room was quite large with a lot of comfortable furniture, had a nice kitchen plus a nice deck. There was no noticeable noise from other travellers. Every trip we take to the Cape from now on will definitely be spent at Horizons Beach.

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank steves1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

The Horizons is an excellent place to stay situated in the beautifully quaint setting in North Truro on Cape Cod. The rooms are very, very clean. The view and the setting is breath-taking. The units are set up in a very comfortable way.There is a nice clean beach to walk with apicturesque view of Provincetown. We were not at all disappointed and are ready to make booking for 2008!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gigi11011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
1.7 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.5 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Top Mast Resort
Top Mast Resort
#2 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizons Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizons Beach Resort

Property: Horizons Beach Resort
Address: 190 Shore Rd, PO Box 146, North Truro, MA 02652
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizons Beach Resort offers enjoyment and tranquility for your Cape Cod vacation. All accommodations feature kitchens, air conditioning and cable televisions. Select from units with sliders opening to sun decks overlooking Cape Cod Bay, or corner rooms with picture windows and spectacular water views. Relax on 500 feet of private beach or swim in the bayside outdoor pool. Rates for every budget! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horizons Beach Hotel North Truro
Horizons Beach Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing