We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic older motel”
Review of Top Mast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Top Mast Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Basic older motel”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at the Top Mast for one night. Arriving late in the day we were able to see a beautiful sunset over the bay from our balcony in building two. The motel is older as are most motels on the cape. This one needs and I believe is in the process of updating. Recently completed is a new indoor pool and fitness center complete with free Wi Fi, The fitness center is comparable to top name brand hotels. The motel rooms are small and clean except for the shower. Very dirty shower curtain with mold along the top. Dated furnishings. The motel offers no breakfast during the week and we found nothing close by that is open for breakfast. The lobby did not open until 9:00am. There was a coffee maker in the room but its bring your own coffee which we unfortunately did not. The room also had silverware and plates, microwave and small fridge. Charcoal grills are available on the beach for guests to use.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiftiesHavingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    81
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
130
115
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walden, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Great beach front area with grill space and tables. Also, we built fires on the beach each night when the wind wasn't so bad! Beds comfortable and room is very spacious. The owner was MORE than helpful to show us around, and also give us a few great suggestions on where to eat & what to do. I would definitely go to the same place next year and every year going forward. It's just that good.

Mostly families there and some couples. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoBo213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We've been coming to Top Mast for many years, since Adrienne and Jason were kids. Now they are running the resort, with an occasional hand from Al and Nancy, their parents. Many modern features have been added, like the indoor pool and spa, and workout room, but the knockout feature is its location on the bay... literally. From your deck, the water's edge is as little as 40 feet away. The beach is always well groomed and inviting. The rooms have been recently renovated, including new kitchens and bathrooms. Provincetown is minutes away. The Top Mast Café is on premises, and serves terrific breakfasts and Friday night dinners. Top Mast is the perfect place to veg-out during the day, and gourmet dine in P-Town at night.

Room Tip: Reserve in Feb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I've been going to Top Mast for the past 35 years (on and of) and it only gets better. Responsive owners and great housekeepers. 40" from the bay water. When you open the front and back windows you get a great constant cross wind going through your room. Great mattresses and great sheets pillows and blankets. I was particularly impressed by the way the beds were made-you could bounce a quarter on them they were so tightly maid. Ten minutes from P-Town were you can find the best in dinning. For the price you can't do better. Make sure you call as soon as possible to make a reservation otherwise you'll miss out. A month in advance would not be to soon.
Example: There was a room two buildings down that had a bunch of totally inconsiderate kids that were playing there stereo so loud we could here it as though it was next door. We mentioned it to the owner and within 5 min it had stopped and was never heard again.
If your ever up there have the owner show you around and you'll see for yourself how accurate my review is.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

What an amazing hotel. The best thing about this hotel is definitely the location. Being right on the beach, listening to the sound of the waves at night, going to look for treasures in the sand while admiring the beautiful sunset... I mean really, this place is heaven. The rooms are very clean, and the kitchenette is an added bonus. Being so close to p-town is great as well. This is now our new vacation spot, we will definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinag19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

...because the room interior and furniture is, frankly, kind of shabby. They seem to get a lot of repeat business, which probably encourages them NOT to gussy up the place since people are satisfied enough to keep coming back. As the saying goes, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." Plus, I'm sure it helps to keep the prices affordable so there's a trade-off.

I'm one of those repeat guests too (although I personally wouldn't mind new beds and carpeting). But I'm happy to settle for lower-quality furnishings (as long as it doesn't fall below an acceptable standard of cleanliness) in exchange for being able to step out onto the balcony or deck outside of the rooms to see the waves gently lapping the beach (and the price is right). Where the owners clearly have spent some money is on their gym/pool building, which is a nice amenity that we took full advantage of and thoroughly enjoyed.

As a final note, I've been a few times now and have been surprised how quiet and relaxed the hotel is at night considering how many rooms there are. Definitely another plus for me.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank toastface_grillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I chose Top Mast for a Cape getaway in late June after reading great reviews. We scored a good deal on a lovely second floor room, with a balcony overlooking the bay. It turned out to be just what we we looking for - super clean, super new room with a little kitchenette and balcony perfect for 2. It also had very easy access to get down to the beach, which we enjoyed.

Being a family-oriented place it was a bit loud for our tastes - that's not Top Mast's fault, but definitely be aware that if there are kids staying anywhere near you're room, you are going to hear them at 7:00am screaming and running around on the beach because why wouldn't they! It's right there, and they are all whipped up and on vacation. It was just a little annoying for us. But we'd probably still go back because everything else about our stay was really nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
2.9 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
960 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
184 reviews
3.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Outer Reach Resort
Outer Reach Resort
#5 of 11 in North Truro
316 reviews
1.8 mi away
East Harbour
East Harbour
#10 of 11 in North Truro
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Mast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Mast Resort

Property: Top Mast Resort
Address: P.O. Box 44, 209 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652-0044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in North Truro
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Top Mast Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Mast Resort is nestled on 750 feet of private, groomed beach overlooking Cape Cod Bay and located only minutes from nearby towns of Provincetown and Wellfleet. Accommodations include; garden view units, beachfront units with or without kitchens, 2 bedroom cottages, a 3 bedroom beach house, and a trio of 4 bedroom shore houses. Enjoy our indoor health complex complete with a large, heated pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, weight room, kiddie pool and slide, kid smoothies, frozen drinks, beer, wine, snacks, soda and an outdoor sun deck area with an evening fire pit. outdoor tennis/basketball court area and ping pong and corn hole on the lawn. Also located on site is our cafe which serves breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays, with seasonal outdoor patio dining by our large koi fish pond and water feature. Free WI-FI in every room and in various locations through out the property. Shuttle services to Provincetown. Family owned and operated for over 45 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Top Mast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Mast Hotel North Truro
Top Mast North Truro
Top Mast Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing