We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Top Mast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Top Mast Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
361 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The location of Top Mast is perfect, our upper level room was right on the beach, a quick drive to Provincetown, area beaches, restaurants, etc. That being said, our hotel room could have been more user friendly. Top Mast calls their rooms, efficiencies -- which is what they are, with a small refrig, coffee maker, silverware, plates, glasses -- but there is no sink to wash anything except for the bathroom sink. Closet space was very small and the room itself is crammed with furniture, a pull out sofa (I don't know how more than two people could stay in the room), a table and two chairs, a chest of drawers and a queen-size bed. There was no room for suitcases, beach bags, etc. I'm happy they offer these features, but it was difficult to make use of them. Our room was quiet and the sea breeze coming into our room at night was wonderful. Our sunset view of Provincetown was amazing. Staff was friendly and helpful and the Top Mast Cafe was a great place for breakfast. My opinion is that Top Mast needs a little TLC.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMastResort, Owner at Top Mast Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the location, staff and cafe! I wanted to clarify the different types of rooms we offer throughout our 3 beachfront buildings.
A beachfront motel room has a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker and we only have 4 of these smaller type rooms which do not have full kitchen/sinks, etc.. This is the room type you were in, not an efficiency.
A beachfront one room efficiency has a full kitchen with a full size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, 2 burner cook top, kitchen sink, counter space, cabinets, tile floor and all the necessary essentials for light cooking.
A beachfront two room efficiency is equipped with everything the one room efficiency has as well as a private bedroom and additional tv.
More details about each room category are available on our website and please contact us anytime if we can be of any further assistance. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    78
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
125
108
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

If you enjoy a desolate beach, poolside drinks and the most amazing sunsets book after labor day! I booked mid week to Sunday and had a great stretch of weather. The private groomed beach was all but mine, the views of Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown were awesome! Most amazing sunsets I have seen! I booked a 2nd floor beachfront room! Was the best offered privacy in the mornings and evenings. Very clean and very friendly staff... Pool/spa is an amazing asset! They pool building sells alcoholic drinks that can be enjoyed poolside! Firepit on the deck was great at night! I will be returning next year ... Great way to End my summer ..... - Matt ( from Boston)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattzipsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I spent 2 nights in 1 of the cottages with my husband, our toddler and her grandparents. We were pleasantly surprised to have a view of the sea (sunset included) from our kitchen table and deck chairs. Self-catering facilities were everything we could have wanted. The only point of the cottage I would highlight is that the bedrooms are small and I cannot see how you would fit a pack'n'play or crib (we had a small toddler camp bed which we squeezed in). The pool facilities are luxurious in my opinion, and we sampled breakfast from the cafe as well as Friday fish fry - we were very pleasantly surprised by the high standard of home-cooked goods, not easy to find in America. The proximity to the beautiful beach is perfect and I suspect that the ocean-view rooms are lovely. While the road infront of the cottage can be busy and you have to watch your children carefully, there was enough space from the road such that we felt safe. All in all, I highly recommend North Truro and this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCF128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our group had been going to this place every summer for more than five years with no known problems. The management gladly took our money until it came time to book this year. We were told that despite our loyal patronage, the resort would no longer accept our reservations. We were not given advance notice of this decision, so we did not have enough time to find accommodations for our large group.

It was disappointing for us, but especially our children who look so forward to spending time with each other each year on vacation.

It's an OK resort, but they made a bad decision.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 223ChristineW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMastResort, Owner at Top Mast Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
We are sorry to see this review at this time as last year we did have to regrettably inform a very large group of guests that we would not be able to accommodate them in the upcoming season. This particular group stayed in July 2011 and we notified them of our new "no large group" policy by letter in November 2011, which we hoped would have allowed them ample time to make alternate vacation plans for the summer of 2012.
In general, very large groups of families, couples, wedding guests, etc. tend to disrupt the relaxed sea-side setting we strive to provide our guests, so while faced with the challenge of trying to accommodate everyone's needs, we made the difficult decision to no longer allow very large groups. Our new policy applied to a few different groups and by no means was it aimed specifically at one group. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused anyone and we are, and continue to be, very gratefult to all our guests for their business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Burke, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just returned from five nights at the Top Mast and still feeling the vacation glow! We stayed in one of the cottages and loved it. Wonderful staff from the office to the health club! The Cafe was great- wonderful homemade breakfast goodies to eat in or take out.
One of the best things was the location!! Only ten minutes into P-town or to the beaches at Herring cove or Race point. Great beaches for walking, gathering stones or looking for sea glass. Sunsets were awesome right from Pilgrim's beach in front of the seaside units with the sun setting behind Pilgrim's tower in P-town!!
We feel like we have found the perfect place to stay on the outer cape and can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burke,vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

You know how it is...you plan a visit to a new area by reading On-line advertisements, pick one , arrive and then learn it is "not excactly." Certainly not the case at Top Mast!!! Long time Family owned/operated, close to (5-10 mins) Provincetown attractions and beaches, yet far enough away, to be private and quiet. Their beach , while not as grand as those of the National Seashore, is steps away and offers much. Property is attractive, well maintained and plans are afoot for yet more improvements.. The staff is available, efficient, friendly and helpful. Be sure to start your day with breakfast at Top Mast Cafe. Great food !!! In the office is a Guest Book and many entries relate a long history of repeat visits. It is absolutely no secret why. We are already planning for next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nekchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Reasonably priced for the location. Rooms are literally feet from the bay and have a great view of Provincetown. About 5 to 10 minutes to Provincetown and even closer to Truro Winery. Rooms are very clean with full kitchen. On the bus line to Provincetown. Only drawback is that there is not a lot to do in the immediate neighborhood (although it does help keep the area quiet). We have stayed here twice and would definitely come back. Don't count on Internet service.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
1.6 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
3.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
19.1 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
23.2 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Mast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Mast Resort

Property: Top Mast Resort
Address: P.O. Box 44, 209 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652-0044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Truro
#1 Family Hotel in North Truro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Top Mast Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Mast Resort is nestled on 750 feet of private, groomed beach overlooking Cape Cod Bay and located only minutes from nearby towns of Provincetown and Wellfleet. Accommodations include; garden view units, beachfront units with or without kitchens, 2 bedroom cottages, a 3 bedroom beach house, and a trio of 4 bedroom shore houses. Enjoy our indoor health complex complete with a large, heated pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, weight room, kiddie pool and slide, kid smoothies, frozen drinks, beer, wine, snacks, soda and an outdoor sun deck area with an evening fire pit. outdoor tennis/basketball court area and ping pong and corn hole on the lawn. Also located on site is our cafe which serves breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays, with seasonal outdoor patio dining by our large koi fish pond and water feature. Free WI-FI in every room and in various locations through out the property. Shuttle services to Provincetown. Family owned and operated for over 45 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Top Mast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Mast Hotel North Truro
Top Mast North Truro
Top Mast Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing